We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Macaroni Sciue Sciue

Caffe Macaroni Sciue Sciue
124 Columbus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
4152178400
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 4,858 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Jackson
Transit: MUNI: 33 & 45 lines
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a family dinner in the small dining room at the front of the restaurant.

The food and service were both excellent and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome even providing our youngest member with her own small carafe of water and glass- something she really appreciated!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    35
    10
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Order the special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Incredibly romantic/intimate little Italian establishment. I've never had such authentic Italian food. Mario is the owner/chef and he will treat you like family. Always order his specials and you cannot go wrong. One of those places where I would literally pay someone to go eat a meal. It is THAT good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always go here when in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place. I have followed them as they have shifted side to side across the street, and the meals have always been perfection, and the service friendly. There's a real family atmosphere here. I have business dinners here and people are at first uncertain because of how small it is, and then they quickly warm up to it because of how great the servers are and how unbelievably good the food is. Some of the best Italian anywhere I've been in the states, including NYC, Chicago, and Seattle. Ask what is good, and then get it. If they seem put off by your choice of wine or desert, ask what they'd recommend, and then get it. Advice is always spot on and not just a way to get you to purchase something more expensive. I've had them give me things for free to make sure I got the right complement to my meal and didn't leave without the best experience. Completely love this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found this little restaurant by accident in The North Beach district of San Francisco..we were in the mood for a good Italian dinner. It was a great experience..the food was fresh and cooked to perfection. The restaurant is easy to miss, but google it for directions. there menu is limited, and chicken parmigiana was what I craved for, but was informed they only serve that as a special on another day of the week so we couldn't get that. I had linguine with clams instead which was delicious.. I would certainly call ahead for reservations as seating is quite limited. My next trip to San Fran will certainly be coming back to this restaurant. Mario really goes all out to make you feel like family..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A wedge of Italy with a side order of Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This little place puts out some real unique dishes that dance on your taste buds and toy with your senses. At the same time, if you are lucky enough to be seated in the main dining area, you can watch the flora and flotsam of North Beach pass by your window. The seafood linguine had a tight little blend of shellfish with great flavor and perfectly sproingy noodles. Finish with a cappuccino and enjoy the walk back to wherever you came from.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Macaroni Sciue Sciue also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Macaroni Sciue Sciue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Macaroni Sciue Sciue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.