We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with a twist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Budget hotel with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Straight to the point: it's a budget hotel. This means small but clean rooms, no service and a very simple complimentary breakfast in a tiny cramped room without tables and just juice, coffee, apples, bread and bagels. Still, it offers an OUTSTANDING value for the money.

Located virtually next door to Chinatown gate, you are really, really close to excellent restaurants, the Montgomery St. Bart station, Union Square, the SFMoMA and the best flagship stores. One can easily take the Bart from SFO airport and get here really fast and cheap. And since it is very close to Embarcadero, you don't have to spend too much with transportation.

The hotel itself is located in a century old building in very good condition and the thematic rooms decorated by artists are a plus that adds to its overall avant-garde charm (just make sure you first give your room a look, some themes can be a bit disturbing depending on your taste). And a big thumbs up to the staff, Patricia and Celia are really helpful.

If you are on a tight budget and want a well located, good place to sleep and take a shower, this is one of your best bets.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    175
    86
    44
    60
See reviews for
33
187
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Husband and I stayed here for the weekend in SF. There are so many amazing works of art on the walls. If you enjoy street art and don't mind a small room, you'll love this place. Our room overlooked a little courtyard with brick walls covered in art. I really enjoyed this place! Quirky, fun experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had room no. 507 and stayed for 6 nights. The room was not as big as you may expect but absolutely clean and nicely decorated. Due to the location on the 5th floor with view to an inner courtyard it was pretty quiet and bright. The room had a flatscreen TV and ironing board and iron in a built in closet. There was also a hair dryer and small shampoo/soap/body lotion bottles were available in the bathroom which could need more shelves to place your cosmetics.
The breakfast room is located right behind the reception on the 2nd floor and there are a couple of stools where you can sit and enjoy coffee, bagels or toast, orange juice and apples or bananas. You're fee to take the breakfast to your room, as trays are available. The breakfast is not overwhelming but a good quick start into the day with a cup of coffee and a cream cheese bagel. There are also soda and snack machines availabe on the 3rd and 4th floor.
Staff is really friendly and helpful. The room was superclean and cleaned every day even with fresh sheets. The only problem on warmer days was that we couldn't open the window to the extend we needed to so the air was sometimes quite warm.
But all in all I can really recommend this place, charming and clean hotel for an unbeatable price in an Downtown location. Very close to Chinatown and Union Square, nice walk to Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter and brighter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Room: the room was clean and a little small. The only real con is that it had no bathroom but this was less annoying than I anticipated.

Location: perfect location. Buses, trains, stores, coffee shops, tourists spots. All within walking distance.

Staff: terrible staff. Antisocial with a "it's no my problem attitude". We left a cellphone in our bed and went out for breakfast. When we came back, the phone was gone. We went to the front desk, told the person that the cleaning lady probably took the phone along with the sheets. No problem , just check the used sheet bin. He told us he couldn't help us, and that the staff had left for the day and we could only check that in the next day. Asked him to call the cleaning lady, he told us he didn't have the contact for the person. Asked for the manager, we were told she was on a month vacation. After a while he magically found someone's phone that, told him exactly whether the phone was.
We had a lesser problem at checkout with a different staff member, nothing big but she also had a terrible attitude.

All in all, if you don't have to handle the staff, it is a pretty good deal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had $160ish rate for the suites! Good value for what you get for the room! I love the artsy theme, and how the staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was so-so (some simple toast, bagels, coffee, and tea). I brought 4 big baggages when I checked in, so it was kind of a problem when I have to bring the baggages through the eerie and old elevator. More like a hostel than a hotel, tbh. Location? Great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family and I stayed back in Decemeber and we had a great time. The hotel is very "San Franciscly" and we loved it. We loved the tiny stairs and the old elevator. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little noisy but after walking all day, you are juts too tired to care about it. They renewed and painted with "street art" the rooms. Some of them are very cool and some others I just didn't get… Clean and cozy.

Room Tip: you should ask for a room in second floor so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel was perfect for a short visit to San Fran. It is in a fantastic location. I was worried from other reviews and from the price we paid that it might not be so good but it was really good! We paid hundreds less than anything else I saw but still a very nice, clean room. Very friendly staff. Everything we needed for our stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the geisha room, which was spacious with a separate wardrobe for luggage and great art on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.