We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Romano

Allegro Romano
1701 Jones St, San Francisco, CA 94109-2110 (Russian Hill)
+1 415-928-4002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Redwood City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a reservation and we left standing in the entrance for 10 minutes waiting for someone to notice us. There was a definite musty odour as we entered the restaurant and we eventually identified it as stale urine. We were finally shown to our table and our water glasses filled. Looking around at the other tables, the food didn't look great. We decide only to order a main dish and leave as quickly as possible. I was studying the menu when suddenly there was a fish next to me with the waiter saying that it was the fish of the day, sea bass. We nodded thank you and he disappeared only to spring up on the other side holding a bowl of uncooked rice with 3 truffles on top. He picked one up as he was reciting the truffle dishes on offer and I could see green mould on the bottom of it. He lost his place in the list of dishes and recited the second half twice. After another 15 minute wait our order was eventually taken and a basket of bread placed on the table. It was unfortunately stale.
The meals came very quickly after we ordered and were overcooked and tasted like they had been reheated in the microwave. My Petto di pollo came with mashed potato, which I didn't think that Italians ate, and wilted spinach which was ok. The glass of Italian wine that I had with the meal was the only high point, it was excellent.
We were then given, we didn't order it, a dish with watermelon and biscotti which was excellent apart from the fake whipped cream in the middle.
We were also given, again not ordered, the worst Tiramisu I have ever tasted. We couldn't finish it. It was accompanied by some of the worst port that I've tasted, it had a nose of old socks and a taste of vinegar.  We eventually paid and got out.

The Americans at the next table we gushing on about how wonderful and authentic everything was and they were right. 
It is a cheap Italian restaurant catering for gullible American tourists.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    6
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local and were delighted. The staff was knowledgeable about the menu and read our minds before we asked for anything. Truffle risotto was on the special for the night and they offered it as an appetizer or an entree. It was the best that I have ever eaten. Everything that we ordered was fabulous. On a trip I usually don't repeat any restaurant but I am going to this time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic find. Small, intimate neighborhood restaurant with great food and service. The staff and owner were very visible and attentive, without being intrusive. Great Italian wine list and excellent food. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We started with wine and the appetizer platter. Excellent food. I had the scallops, which were excellent. At the end we ordered dessert and they added extra desserts for free. Best of all was the service. Glasses were never empty. At the end of the night, the served Port and kept refilling our glasses.

Don't miss the bathroom. Sounds strange, but true.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal -- a highlight of trip to California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Allegro Romano is an outstanding Italian restaurant. The portions and the prices are very good but most importantly the food is excellent. My scallops and risotto in squid ink was amazing -- a great set of flavors, some unexpected. The carpaccio and caprese salad were also great. My wife's pasta was devoured. In addition, Allegro Romano has a very affordable wine list that includes house red and white. We were too stuffed to try dessert, which is unfortunate, as the list of choices was very tempting. And the service is terrific -- charming waiters who have a great sense of timing. You'll have a great meal. We ate early, at 6:30. I suspect it really gets busy on the weekend, so be sure to get a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Romano also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Allegro Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.