We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd move to SF to go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grind Cafe

The Grind Cafe
783 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-3316 (Hayes Valley)
415-864-0955
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #845 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I'd move to SF to go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the first place that the hotel referred us to upon arrival. What a great recommendation. Giant (HUGE) menu full of breakfasts, sandwiches, salads, pastries, everything. The cappuccino was great (although my fiance preferred the drip filter coffee at the Mill a few blocks away). My fiance got a breakfast burrito that was really good. I had the asian pear salad - FANTASTIC. I returned the next day to get another pear salad to-go to eat for lunch on a Sonoma wine tour. The homemade pastries and cookies were awesome. I even took a picture of the oat jack ingredients and have been trying to reconstitute that delicious recipe at home. Everyone will find something to eat here. It seems to be packed with locals so it must be good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting food and great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This nice cafe offers good quality breakfast and lunch and serves very good coffee. It has a wide range of healthy cookies and granola bars to grab and go as well as other yummy cakes and bars. The menu is really interesting and the problem is actually choosing what to have since the have so many tasty options :) Like it a lot and would definelty go there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and efficient--”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was quick coming from the kitchen, and it was carefully prepared.
Price okay for a bagel with salmon smear. It was nice--not best ever but good.
Locals seem to eat here. Close to Metro Hotel.
Coffee was okay. Weirdo movie trailer kind of background music the morning we were there--whatever. The banquette by the cream and sugar area in two spots had clear tape over torn material; so, watch out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Burrr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had breakfast here on a Saturday morning and it was freezing. But the food was tasty and the service pleasant and efficient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Basic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just a short walk to Haight and Scott from my hotel on Divisadero I found The Grind Cafe. It was very good. They are also big Giants fans, so that is a big plus in my book!
I will be back for lunch next time I am in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grind Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Grind Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grind Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.