We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara's Italian Pastry

Mara's Italian Pastry
503 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-2801 (North Beach)
(415) 397-9435
Improve this listing
Ranked #950 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North Beach
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went their on a Saturday night and it was pretty busy. The pastries are placed in front of their window so people passing by tend to stop in and have a look. I ordered their apple strudel and it was very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco area, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tiramisu is excellent!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped here after dinner, and a nice walk up to Coit Tower. Nice way to end the evening. I had Tiramisu, my daughters had gelato, which they said was very good, and my husband had a cheesey filled pastry which he liked. A nice quick stop in the old North Beach neighborhood of SF. Fun!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Pastries, Nutella Latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this place while walking around before Beach Blanket Babylon. We were drawn in by the pastries - which were wonderful. We also had focaccia pizza - which was good, but not outstanding. Then we saw the Nutella Latte on the menu, so we had to try it. Very good and unique. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food. Horrible service if you are a tourist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The tiramisu is great there. So is the coffee. We came in on a slow Tuesday afternoon thinking we relax and be treated with some good service due to the ratings here on tripadvisor. Turns out the owner barely acknowledged us. He took our order, we tipped well and sat down. While paying we tried to start a brief convo with the owner. He simply looked down at the register and acted indifferenty. Turns out that when his regulars came in he chatted their ears off. But tourists are an after thought, since they are not returning customers. Conclusion; Do not go there if you are a tourist.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this bakery on our way to dinner in North Beach.As soon as we saw all the Italian pastries in the window, we decided to come back here for desert and were glad we did. Wonderful chocolate cake, cannoli and Expresso and a bag of cookies and biscotti for the flight home. A definite stop next time we're in North Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara's Italian Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Mara's Italian Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara's Italian Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.