We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Friday night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coqueta

Coqueta
The Embarcadero, Pier 5, San Francisco, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coqueta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #411 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Busy Friday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My First visit to Coqueta was a pleasant and fun night. Beautiful cocktails and tapas but pricey. Service was great, even on a super busy Friday night. Our party of 6 tried many tapas choices and all were delicious.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great tapas, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Sat at the bar and had a great lunch. I like tapas, but sometimes they can be a bit boring. And tapas should be anything but boring. This place hit it's mark on everything I tried. Shrimp in olive oil, octopus,

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Reserved our table over the phone before flying out to San Francisco & were given a great spot on our arrival on a very busy Friday night.

Loved the ambiance & decor in the restaurant and the service was friendly and attentive.

We ordered a selection of different dishes and whilst most were quite small, they all tasted excellent. I would recommend the croquetas & the Albondigas! We ended the night with some great cocktails.

Good food, excellent service and a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

On a resent visit to SF we received a last minute recommendation to dine here. As we were near the restaurant we decided to stop in and see if we could get a reservation. Unfortunately they were booked but we were encouraged to come back that evening and they would try to work us in. So glad we did! We were able to get 2 spots at the chef's table which was fun to watch the various tapas being prepared. The speciality drinks were great, the kale salad wonderful, cheese board very good as were the duck and pork meatballs. A fun restaurant in a great location with a view of the bay bridge.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you're in San Francisco, a trip to Coqueta is a MUST. Chef Michael Chiarello has done masterful job, not only with the unique menu but with an amazing ambience right on the water. No details were over looked in the creation of this heaven on the waterfront. From the views, to the tables, to the carefully selected glassware Coqueta is an experience for the eyes as well as the palate. The unique drink menu is worth a sampling, even if you don't have time for a full meal. But plan to stay for dinner, the housemade chorizo is to die for. The paella is a journey of flavors, and make sure you order dessert! The frozen soufflé is something we had never experienced and are looking forward to having again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coqueta also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Coqueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coqueta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.