We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earlybird tour - wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcatraz Cruises, LLC

Alcatraz Cruises, LLC
Pier 33, Alcatraz Landing, San Francisco, CA
+1 415-981-7625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Earlybird tour - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We did the earlybird tour and were the first group on the island on a beautiful Saturday (or was it Sunday?) morning. We'd booked online prior to our visit.

The audio tour really was outstanding, as we'd been told. The island is fascinating and I loved sitting outside in the sun, listening to the tour and looking over to the city thinking about what it would have been like to be a prisoner or a warden on the island.

The sky was cloudless and there was an eerie juxtaposition in our photos of the fallen down warden house with beautiful blue sky beyond, and California Gulls nesting in the old chimney.

Loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    134
    11
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best audio guide I have ever used”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You HAVE to do this, and you HAVE to book in advance... Please note that this is the only tour that takes you inside Alcatraz, When we arrived the first tour available was for three days after we were to leave, but luckily enough we had booked online. I was actually rather reluctant to go to Alcatraz because of its past, the Pierside facilities were pretty dire and over on the island side we were warned of steep gradients and uneven surfaces so Iwasn't filled with confidence.
My feelings changed when we reached the actual jail and were given our headsets. These are very userfriendly in that you can pause and rewind very easily.
Well I was absolutely in awe of the audio tour. Real prisoners and guards had been recorded telling of their experiences and the sound effects were spine tingling. the whole thing brought a tear to my eye on more than one occasion and everyone I saw came out in a very quiet, reflective mood.
You really should do this!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We did the night time tour of Alcatraz. The tour was fantastic, excellent guides and the evening tour helps with the ambience. We got into the hospital which is a must and also experienced the cell door slamming demonstration. We booked the tickets online in advance as tours fill up quickly. The boat journey was quick and smooth. You do need to wear warm clothes as it gets cold. Souvenir shop is worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historical adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Interesting facts regarding the prison, conditions and life on Alcatraz. The ability to have your own personal tour with headphones made the tour ideal. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Iconic, must see, dockside needs investment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

For such a significant tourist attraction the lack of terminal facilities, particularly shelter & seating is most unpleasant. We booked very early based on review research, it was the best tip. Travelling with a family 3 children under 13, the bring along, hats sunscreen, water, tissues eye standard. We didn't cater well for inclement weather in Early fall, the rain in he morning (when you are required to collect tickets 1 hour ahead of programmed boarding) dampened our mood, we purchased 5 plastic ponchos from the overcrowded small coffee/souvenir shop. Then made to stand in the rain whilst you queue for about 1/2 hour before boarding. The area drained poorly, and less than 50% of the terminal area is covered?? Perhaps it rarely rains..... The actual trip, and destination is worth the visit, the staff, rangers, and all personal touch points made up for the poor terminal experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcatraz Cruises, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Alcatraz Cruises, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcatraz Cruises, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.