We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with Reed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Car Big Time Tours

Small Car Big Time Tours
San Francisco, CA
415 529 5404
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a custom tour in a convertible MINI Cooper! Affordable VIP service that takes you where most other tour companies are not allowed. Knowledgeable, local guide who loves San Francisco. Visit boutique Wine Country wineries other tour companies can’t go to in fun and style. We’re the only open-top custom tour in the city. Great for photographers, couples wanting to get away from crowds, or anyone wanting an experience as unique as San Francisco.We go where the big bus tours can't. Cruise down the twists of Lombard Street. Travel up to sweeping views of Telegraph Hill and Coit Tower. See the mansions of Pacific Heights and Sea Cliff. All tours are personalize--see what you want as long as you want. Door to door service. You're in a special city--why take an ordinary tour?
Austin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great time with Reed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We spent two hours with Reed. The time flew by as Reed is a wealth of information and had so many interesting facts and stories to share with us. He even noticed, at the beginning of our tour, that my husband was wearing a Star Wars t-shirt and asked us if we would be interested in visiting the Presido, home to LucasFilm. Of course we said yes and had a great opportunity to see the original Dark Vader and Boba Fett costumes from the movie. In addition our young daughter went on the tour with us and was just as entertained as we were. Thank you to Reed for showing us the wonderful history of his hometown.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“San Francisco and Northern Coast (Pt. Reyes) 5 hour tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Reed was simply the best guide ever. His knowledge of San Francisco and the surrounding areas was vast and enlightening. He is very timely, professional, flexible and personable. The ride in the convertible Mini-Cooper was awesome. He hugged the costal curves like a champ, and I felt safe and sound - free to fully enjoy the amazing views. There was so much to see, and he did not mind pulling aside for me to capture each beautiful moment. He was friendly, engaging, and even quiet times did not feel awkward. I would tour with him again and again, and would certainly recommend his services to you. Thanks Reed for a fantastic vacation! Tara :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a great time with Reed on our 4 hour tour. As others have said, Reed is very knowledgeable and passionate about San Fran and made the tour very enjoyable. Right from the start Reed was responsive to initial emails and open to any of your ideas of the kind of tour you wanted.The car was a great way to zip around the city and see all the sights and not be stuck on a tour bus.All in all it was a great day and would not hesitate to use his services again!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“We'd love to do another tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a four+ hour tour with Reed that was spectacular. Prior to the tour, there were a couple of emails so that Reed could get ideas on what we’d like to see and general ideas we might have for the tour; he also made some suggestions. Small Car Big Time Tours is well-named. The car is a cute little Austin mini Cooper convertible and Reed has a small microphone system so everyone can hear; as well there are blankets in case anyone feels chilly. The day we went the weather was perfect and we were ready to go from the hotel right on time.

Immediately I knew the tour was going to be great. Reed is knowledgeable, friendly and flexible. It also helps that he’s an excellent driver so we always felt safe in the car. This was the perfect way for us to see San Francisco as I have mobility issues and can’t walk far (I tire very quickly). On our tour, we saw everything we wanted to see and more. Also, Reed has interesting stories and clearly loves San Francisco.

There were just the three of us in the car, Reed included, so no crowds of people and we could just whip around the city. In this review, rather than saying where we all went; basically it was everywhere in the city of San Francisco and up the Twin Peaks. If we got hungry or wanted to stretch for a bit, that was fine too; we stopped for lunch in the Castro which was fun. It was really enjoyable to hear about the history of San Francisco and have some dialogue rather than being in a packed bus with a loud microphone. We could also get in to see areas where buses/large vans aren’t allowed. The murals were amazing and of course the architecture. We really enjoyed hearing Reed’s perceptions of the city and he’s done a lot of research to ensure accuracy of the information.

It was so much fun that if we go to San Francisco again, we’ll definitely book with Reed and maybe explore another area or do the same tour again. This was the highlight of our trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
“Best tour ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Reed was amazing. He was quick to return our call and accommodate our schedule. He was able to answer every question we had about SF & the 3 hours flew by! We would definitely do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Car Big Time Tours also viewed

 

Been to Small Car Big Time Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Car Big Time Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.