We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lessons in Chocolate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dandelion Chocolate

Dandelion Chocolate
740 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Mission District)
(415) 349-0942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 116 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Neighborhood: Mission District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Mission District
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lessons in Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My step daughter who lives in Seattle loves Dandelion Chocolates, so when we stumbled upon their store in San Francisco, we decided to step inside to find out why. From the first step in the door you are surrounded by the heavenly scent of chocolate. We were able to sample several different types of chocolate. Each had coco beans from places like Madagascar or Venezuela and remarkably had very different tastes. We watched the skilled craftsmen or women make the chocolate; from inspecting the beans to packaging huge bars. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The price is a bit high, but this is not a Hersey bar. Treat your taste buds, stop by explore real chocolate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chocolate fans this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Free samples. Dark rich chocolate. Thick melted European style drinking chocolate. Super friendly staff. Cool atmosphere. If you like chocolate this place is definitely for you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am not a fan of chocolate because it is usually so sickeningly sweet and of the "milk" variety. But this place is NOT like the typical American candy bar. They grind and prepare chocolate fare from the pod. THE POD I TELL YOU!! They make a European chocolate drink that is thick, rich and creamy without being saccharin sweet. They make a spicy latin chocolate that has a kick and is also not ultra sugary. Maybe the best item was the chocolate con leche brownie. My husband ordered and forced me to try it. I was sooo reluctant because it looked really dense and over the top SWEET and rich. I finally gave in and DAMN was it FABULOUS! It was the most chocolatey SLIGHTLY sweet brownie I have ever had. It had a mexican caramel (leche) layer that made the brownie wonderful.

This is what chocolate really is, not the stuff you get at the grocery store. You must try it if you ever have the chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bean to Belly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rich, delicious chocolate in various forms, all wonderful. You can watch them make the chocolate right there. Had the regular hot chocolate and it was anything but regular. You can sample chocolate made from beans from all over the world. Educational, and delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Reminiscent of chocolate shops in Switzerland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have wanted to visit Dandelion since they opened and finally had the opportunity last weekend. Oh my, what a beautiful experience for the senses! Incredible chocolate made on site, delicious brownies and a fantastic drink...the frozen hot chocolate that I'm still dreaming about! Warm, upbeat environment and super attentive staff make this a destination you don't want to miss in San Francisco. Dandelion is a perfect fit for the Mission.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dandelion Chocolate also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Dandelion Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dandelion Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.