We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try and avoid unless desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street to your Saves list
Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try and avoid unless desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Was given a room on the ground floor near the pool. Was dark and dingy so asked if they had anything better. After paying an extra $25 was given a room on the top floor of the other building. This was at least better but everything was so old and falling apart. Curtains needed to be repaired, windows were filthy. Needs renovation badly. Chairs were stained. No airconditioning or heating. (Heater was broken) There is no lift so you have to lug your bags up 4 flights of stairs. Traffic noise is also a negative point.Only plus points are the things outside of the hotel such as the many restaurants nearby, (Recomend "Squat Gobble" for a good feed). Also the closeness to the Golden Gate Bridge, we could actually see it from our top floor filthy window.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel is my tip to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    31
    20
    41
See reviews for
20
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have to say, when we arrived we had a very warm welcome....when we entered the hotel we were a little shocked at the bad decor of the hall...as we went up the stairs it seemed to get worse...we did laugh as we lugged our heavy cases up to the third floor...a little apprehensive of what we might find when we opened the door..lol! It was not that bad. A good size room with a very comfy bed. Clean bathroom and dry white clean towels. We had complimentary coffee making machine which is rare in America.
We were here for three nights. The room was cleaned daily. We chose this hotel for price and location. San Francisco is an incredible city, lots to see and do. Make sure you pack good walking shoes. Plenty of restaurants. Do make use of the public transport. It is easy and fun. The cable car is a great way to view Down Town area.
Sleeping was a little poor due to traffic noise. But I have to be honest and say we were exhausted each night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Never ever go to this hotel!! The owner is the rudest, most impolite and impulsive person, I have ever met in my life. he does not have any modesty!
At check in they made a mistake and charged our credit card with 1833 dollar instead of 183 dollar. We asked them to write a fax to our credit card company to cancel the transaction, but instead of catching up with their mistake...they refused to write the fax (our credit card was blocked because they exploded the limit). As we insisted in writing this fax to make sure we get our money back - the owner yelled at us that we are just making problems and that we should check out right now. Just as we wanted to call the police, they agreed in writing an email. Dont expect any customer service at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

So we went LA LV AND SF. We stopped here at the end. Now i checked all the reviews and knew what i was going to be getting into. I also checked the hotel from the outside i knew it was not that good but at the end of the day you are going on holiday and all you need is a place to sleep at night. The TV was old but had HBO so in the evening we sat around and watched movies. We wont there during the day. The person on the desk was helpful with but could not recommend anything around the area. The beds in the room were good but sofa's and carpet was not good. My point of view is that i could live there if need be, just felt like a normal room and nothing special. If it helps think of it as a upgrade from a hostel but not quite a proper hotel. I had a great time there and good for value for money. Will go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were horrified by the state of the entrance to the block our room was in. The carpets were litter strewn and badly stained and the smell was indescribable. In our room the bed sheets looked clean and so did the bathroom but the carpets and chairs were stained and filthy and the smell of something being masked by disinfectant is something I'll never forget. The curtains were ripped and dirty and the wardrobe was a doorless cupboard with a solitary broken hanger. We couldn't stay as I wasn't prepared to let any of our belongings touch anything and the putrid smell was sickening after just a few minutes. I believe this hotel should be closed for health and safety reasons. We did get a refund without any argument which was the only positive of this awful experience. Book in at your peril!

Room Tip: If you must stay here the rooms around the pool may be better than our room which was in the block n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor listing it but this place was very dirty and unpleasant. We left after fifteen minutes and demanded a refund, which was reluctantly granted only after we listed the problems in the room in detail and said that we would dispute the payment with American Express if he did not refund our payment.

We didn't expect much, stay in budget hotels often, and weren't looking for anything more than a place that was clean and pleasant enough to sleep in and to sit in for a little while between outings.

The curtains were falling down, the bathroom light fixture was falling down, the smoke detector was open with no battery. The room had flies, the furniture was streaked with stains and gritty, the heating unit on the wall was covered with black soot, the bathroom floor had not be washed. The hallway was dirty and smelled bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night before traveling home the next morning. Not the most beautiful place to stay, but cheap and clean. The pool, while we didn't get in it, looked clean but very small. It sits in the center of all of the surrounding rooms in a typical motel style. Rooms could use updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.