We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel rips you off!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street to your Saves list
Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #212 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel rips you off!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had stayed on July 13-15 and this hotel had charged us $1119.60. It is ridiculous and they are claiming they had not charged us. Yet in our bank statement, it clearly states Alpha Inn and Suites. They aren't even helping us out or checking their statements. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THIS HOTEL, they will RIP YOU OFF!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surferpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I got this room for 80 dollars via priceline. I was expecting the worst because like me, you're probably greeted with those bedbug photos on tripadvisor when you search the place. First of all, there's no bed bugs and the room was actually well cleaned. Yes, it feels a little sketchy and rundown. There is an overpowering smell of Mr.Clean when we walked up the stairs but that's a good thing right? It's an old building and it shows, but that's understandable. We kept the lights dim so we didn't have to think about what the stains were on the wall. Ha ha. The bed and bathroom were very clean and at least you have your own bathroom. The neighbourhood is a good base for exploring the Marina/Presidio district. I recommend walking north a couple blocks to Chestnut street as there are some great coffee shops/restaurants along that street. If you left on Lombard you will discover a very pretty park area with great views of the Golden Gate bridge.

The service at the front desk was fine. They even called a cab for me when I needed them to.

SF is a very expensive city so I don't think you'll be able to find something less than 80 that isn't a complete dump. This was fine as a base for exploring the city and really a lot more comfortable than I was expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gennji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We found most hotels in SF too expensive for our budget, but this one really fits the bill! Yes, it is a bit run down, yes the 'breakfast' is just complimentary juice (made from a packet) or coffee, yes the bathrooms could do with refurbishing, but.... It didn't smell, the beds were clean and comfortable, the towels were changed daily, the bathroom cleaned, there was a fridge/freezer and microwave and kitchen bench/sink (but no cooking equipment) with coffeemaker and complimentary coffee and it was relatively quiet at night. We had a poolside suite. It had 2 x queen size beds, a bath/shower, 2 x writing desks, 2 x chests of drawers, a shared bedside cabinet, a hanging wardrobe rail and more shelf storage in the bathroom. One chair needed shampooing or recovering, but apart from that the linens were fine, they matched and were comfortable. Get over yourselves! You only need a decent bed and a working shower!!

We can put up with 'elderly' decor and facilities as long as it is clean and the service cheerful. Every request we made (i.e. swapping coffee sachets for decaff) was met promptly.
Did I mention the area? Fabulous area!! Running parallel is Chestnut Ave, an eclectic mix of beauty therapy, bars, boutiques and eateries ('Blackwood' is highly recommended), or up the hill behind into Union Street for slightly more upmarket Bistro and eateries and more boutiques of Cow Hollow... And its an easy 20 mins stroll along to Fishermans wharf if you want to do all the touristy stuff. If you like hiking, it is 7.5 KM walk to the North side of the Golden Gate bridge from here, an easy stroll through parkland trails as this place is just 100 metres or so from Lombard Gate, into the Presidio park surrounding the South (city) end of the bridge, or the bus stops outside! To see the rest of SF, a combo ticket allowing access to all cable cars, trolley buses and MUNI buses at $21 per/person for 3 days has it all wrapped up.

Room Tip: We had 217, 1st one as you go above pool - felt it could be noisy with everyone walking past, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked this hotel for watching Golden Gate fireworks display.

Room 435 is large, clean with excellent ocean/bridge view.

Room Tip: Room 434 and 435 are perfect to view San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hills168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangebup
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

When we were dropped off at this hotel our first impression was that it was old and rundown. Things did not improved when we entered the small reception area/office. It was difficult to understand the staff member booking us in.
When we got to the room the first thing we noticed was the smell but after an hour or so we got used to it.
Like most hotels we used on this holiday it only had coffee making facilities no kettle to make a cup of tea.
Breakfast was the biggest disappointment, it consisted of orange juice and coffee and it was not available until 8.00am.
The website said it had free local calls but were told that local calls cost 50c.
The location is not too bad with a choice of restuarants within walking distance and not too far out of town.
We tried to call reception once to ask about the internet issues we were having and the phone was not answered after about a minute of ringing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked this property because it was cheaper than anything else we could find for a few days. Hotels in San Francisco are pretty expensive these days and our budget isn't huge. The location is a bit out of the way, but that said there are a couple of bus routes just a few moments away which for just $2 per ride take you into downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and to the Golden Gate - and from those locations you can take transport or a cab to other parts of the city, so getting around isn't a huge problem even though you're not in the centre of town. There's a huge Walgreens across the road, little shops and restaurants all around, and a great precinct of shops, cafes etc. just one block away (as you walk towards the water). The room we had was fine - huge, and even included microwave, fridge, tv and sofa. It was clean enough, and we quite enjoyed our stay here. If you're on a budget this place is worth a go.

Room Tip: We had room 225 which was massive and pretty clean - no complaints. There's a bit of street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was not able to stay here after my reservation was not honored by hotel management. They claimed I gave a bad credit card number to book the hotel and when I tried to give them updated card info I was berated. At the end of the call I was informed that I would no longer be able to stay at the hotel. The language and tone of the management team there redefines the term "terrible customer service".

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#173 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn Lombard Street
Days Inn Lombard Street
#147 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#153 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge
San Francisco at The Presidio Tr...
#48 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Marina District
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the M...
#157 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Knights Inn San Francisco/On Lombard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing