We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dessert stop for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli-On-The-Go

Ghirardelli-On-The-Go
801 Beach St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #553 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect dessert stop for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The only better place for dessert in this neighborhood would have been the larger Ghirardelli's around the corner and upstairs. There were too many excellent choices for us to make a quick order, but the staff hand out free chocolates while you're waiting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me like. 50 characters? Me like a lot? Me like lots a likes! I love dark chocolate, and they make GREAT dark chocolate. Easy to find, and get to.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great stop with an excellent view of the pier. My husband and I should of shared an ice cream based off of the size though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chocolate - As It's Meant To Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Regular Hot Chocolate is a Must
Hot Chocolate Powder
Live Sundae Counter
Friendly Service
Souvenir Shop
Free Chocolates ;)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“famous for their ice cream, not their organisation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had an ice cream here after seeing their name about town and hearing of their chocolate, it was nice but they need to work out their processes.

As the tills were processing orders at around one a minute and the serving area managed to produce 1 every 3 minutes there was a scrum of people waiting, and they often came out wrong.

With a lack of communication thrown into the mix it was really painful to watch. To be fair to the customers they were pretty patient but we did leave eventually (after a quick rework as they had our order wrong) shaking our heads.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli-On-The-Go also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli-On-The-Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghirardelli-On-The-Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.