We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised native San Franciscan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeanne D'arc

Jeanne D'arc
715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402 (Downtown)
1 (415) 421-3154
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeanne D'arc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: Cable car at Bush/Powell
San Francisco, California
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“surprised native San Franciscan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It is hard to please native San Franciscans because we are used to fine, diverse, affordable dining. Friends (transplants!) recommended and dined with us at this restaurant. We loved the decor, the friendly, humorous staff The food was excellent and reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear SFnative2013,

We are pleased that you liked our restaurant Jeanne d' Arc.
Thank you for your king review. We look forward to serve you
again.

Gratefully

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    111
    57
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Charming and welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Jeanne D' arc is a small restaurant in the basement of the Hotel Cornell. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant quite charming. However, while the food was o.k. it just seemed to miss the mark. The food was under seasoned and the ingredients were of a lesser quality than desired. I had the poached halibut and while the accompanying mussels were delicious and cooked to perfection, I suspected that the halibut was not real halibut. It didn't have the consistency nor the flavor of the halibut that I cook at home. The same can be said about the scallops. Both the green salad and the dessert souffle were excellent. The four course dinner is priced at $42.00 per person. While the portions are ample, that did not make up for the less than satisfying flavors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful little Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I had a 7:30 reservation however we arrived half hour early, we were seated right away with no problem. Our waiter was very friendly, we asked for a french wine recommendation, it was perfect ! We had the lamb shank, so tender and flavorful also, the poached halibut with veggies. Delicious ! Our dessert of chocolate mousse and the orange souffle was heavenly. Perfect french dinner in San Francisco !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear BobMQC

We are glad that you appreciated our restaurant.
Thank you so much for your good comment.
The tean working in the kitchen feels rewarded.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Real French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As someone who used to live in France, I found this restaurant very authentic in as far as the best of French catering is concerned: excellent food, nice decor, perfect choice of wine (rare in North America). Service, however, was American-style efficient and friendly. The best of both worlds!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Outstanding food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great price for an outstanding meal. Really enjoyed the lamb shank...large portion and fall off the bone tender. The orange soufflé was magnificent as was our waiter Dan!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanne D'arc also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Jeanne D'arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeanne D'arc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.