We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delicious Meal in a Wonderful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeanne D'arc

Jeanne D'arc
715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402 (Union Square)
1 (415) 421-3154
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeanne D'arc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Transit: Cable car at Bush/Powell
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Delicious Meal in a Wonderful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My friends visiting from Japan stayed at this cozy French boutique hotel on Nob Hill/Union Square and we met at it's Restaurant Jeanne D'Arc for dinner.
Being originally from France, I thought it a bit ironic, but as soon as I stepped down the stairs (or down the vintage elevator), I was transported back home: the dining room is cozy and full of charm, a small vase of fresh cut flowers on every table, the walls decorated with frescoes and antiquities all reminiscent of the times and life of the heroin, the young Joan of Arc.
But being French, a nice decor is not enough, the food has to pass the test!
And it did brilliantly: the Chef crafts authentic traditional French cooking, the prix fixe 4 courses menu is a fantastic deal for the quality and the abundance of choices ( the rack of lamb! the duck confit!!). We had a delicious bottle of St Emilion very reasonably priced. The service by Esther was very friendly and efficient. Kudos to my Japanese friends for finding such a gem! I can't wait to go back...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    72
    14
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Bit of Orleans, France on San Francisco's Bush Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had an excellent Christmas Eve dinner here last night. Superb five-course menu complete with a glass of champagne and strolling violinist for $56. This cellar restaurant in the Hotel Cornell is still a great bargain. (Normal four-course menu is $38.) Wonderful, authentic atmosphere. Excellent, traditional French cooking. And I still love their Souffle au Grand Marnier for dessert. Yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“"A Delectable Taste of France in the Heart of San Francisco"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a find Restaurant Jeanne D’Arc is! My partner and I enjoyed one of the most delicious meals and relaxing evenings we’ve had in a long time. As a matter of fact, this is one of those places you hesitate to tell anyone about lest it become discovered, but since I don’t live in the area, I’ll risk it.
We arrived après theatre and just at the restaurant’s closing time, but French-speaking host Jose who has lived in France graciously seated us after confirming with the chef and waiter. Indeed, our waiter kindly assured us that there was no need to rush.
The ambience in this intimate, candle-lit, beamed-ceilinged restaurant is enchanting. Everywhere are artistic homages to Jeanne D’Arc: arched stained glass windows, bronze sculptures, frescoes and paintings. Our waiter Dan was a marvel. He was so efficient and so enjoyed taking care of his diners that I was amazed when he revealed that he has worked there for twenty-seven years!
The four-course, prix fixe menu featured soupe de la jardinière (fresh vegetable soup); a choice of three different salads, one with prawns; ten different entrees served with haricot verts (green beans), gratin dauphinois (potatoes au gratin), and legumes gratines (vegetables baked with parmesan); and for dessert, a trio of chocolate mousse, floating island and ginger infused crème brulee or souffle au Grand Marnier or a strawberry mascarpone tartlet. Needless to say the chef is French.
Not only were the soup and salads excellent, but so was the crusty French baguette. The entrees included sea bass, salmon, duck, rabbit, lamb, and steak. My partner opted for the duck breast in orange sauce, and I selected the duck leg confit in a red wine and shallot sauce. Both were succulent. The meat was tender and the sauces delicious. Each vegetable was tasty and distinctive. We shared desserts, also created by the chef, and each was, as they say, to die for. Dan brought dark chocolate truffles which melt-in-your mouth rich. Throughout the perfectly paced meal, Dan kept our wine glasses filled and unobtrusively removed dishes.
The wine we chose was a California vintage, Matanzas Creek Winery’s 2011 Sauvignon Blanc. It was crisp and tasty, and we enjoyed it so much that we drove to Santa Rosa the next day and visited the winery. We didn’t see the creek, but the winery itself is set magnificently on a hill with a mountain backdrop, surrounded by vineyards and lavender since Matanzas Creek also produces a variety of lavender products. In addition to the Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay, we found their 2007 and 2009 Merlots irresistible.
Jose told us that Restaurant Jeanne D’Arc is part of Cornell Hotel de France. I googled the hotel and not only are the rates reasonable, but they offer a spectacular steal that includes breakfast, dinner for two and 24 hour parking—within walking distance of the theatre district, Union Square and Chinatown. Outstanding cuisine, outstanding location, outstanding personnel, oozing with charm—and all with moderate rates. Find doesn’t begin to describe it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy & Romantic Place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Food, service and atmosphere is great. It's a cute little restaurant my husband and I go to every now and then. A must try!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Touch of France Hidden in Nob Hill, San Francisco!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a surprise it was to discover the lovely restaurant, Jeanne D'arc, tucked away in the boutique Cornell Hotel de France, situated half way between Union Square and the Nob Hill area of San Francisco! We were looking for a place located near to the Masonic Auditorium where we were going to hear a concert. This is just a few blocks away, although two blocks are straight uphill (so we worked off the dessert at least!). The menu is somewhat of a fixed price (a steal at $42) with a couple choices for appetizers and desserts (a heavenly Grand Marnier soufflé), and a number of selections for entrees. All our dishes were amazingly good except the fish entree included unmentioned shellfish which my husband can't eat. When we mentioned this to the waiter, he just shrugged his shoulders. The decor is really cute and romantic - a little French "castle" with lots of Medieval charm. However with the addition of holiday lights, it was really too bright and without a hint of background music (apparently broken) it was fairly quiet. The service was good but we had to chase the waiter down to get the bill even though he knew when we had to leave for our concert. Overall, a great find and some place we would definitely return to. There were a number of guests who were speaking French so I'm sure it's a great spot for homesick French-speaking visitors or locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanne D'arc also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Jeanne D'arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeanne D'arc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.