We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad... Its a decent cheap steak.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tad's Steakhouse

Tad's Steakhouse
120 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204 (Union Square)
(415) 982-1718
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #921 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Union Square
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not bad... Its a decent cheap steak.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I live in the NYC area where there are several Tad's. So while here in SFO on business, we hit the Tad's here. Its not the same as the ones in NYC. There was only one steak choice on the menu. In NYC, there are many choice cuts of steak available. But the steak was decent. And it was very inexpensive. Not a bad choice for a reasonably priced business meal. But no where near as great as NYC Tad's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    104
    86
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Fancy but Definitely Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a very casual, cafeteria-style restaurant with a good steak on the menu. There are daily specials and no frills menu items. We had an order of pork chops and a burger. Both were delicious and well-seasoned. If you want a break from the over-sauced, buttery blended vegetables and formal dining, Tad's is a great place to eat on a reasonable budget.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“our first meal in the US!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we dined here when we first arrived in San Francisco from Europe!

Prices are very good, portions are very big and staff is nice and helpful!

I ordered a Ceasar salad that was ok (but too much dressing!) and my husband got the special of the day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“good and cheap food, basic atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As in the title, first the good points:
steaks are very good and tasty, well cooked and seasoned. They come with aromatic bread, potatos (but you must ask for other sides). Prices are also quite fair.
The restaurant looks like a canteen. So, if you go there, expect a self-service, and not a proprerly restaurant. I don't mind this, but I must complain about horrible service (unfriendly and unhelpful waiters).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“breakfast Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat breakfast while visiting the Union Square district in San Francisco when we stumbled across Tad's. They do a breakfast special every morning from 7 til 10.30 a.m. It costs $7.95 and is great value. The staff are friendly and efficient and the place was not crowded,but had a nice homely atmosphere.An excellent choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tad's Steakhouse also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tad's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tad's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.