We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty meal at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompei's Grotto

Pompei's Grotto
340 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1194 (Fisherman's Wharf)
(415) 776-9265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
Chico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Pompei's Grotto is a tourist restaurant in Fisherman's wharf. The food was delicious. My wife and I had the crab cakes, green salad with blue cheese, lasagna, and a bottle of chianti. I wanted a cannoli for desert, but it wasn't on the menu. This is a good quality restaurant with good food at a reasonable price. We would go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    177
    65
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

After eating in a number of expensive, less than terrific places, we found Pompei's Grotto in Fisherman’s Wharf. It was probably the outside which made us look at the menu. We ate there one night and found it to be a terrific value. The food was very good and more reasonably priced than other places with pleasant, prompt service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location of this restaurant was great & it looked absolutely gorgeous from the outside. On entering it was just as lovely on the inside. It was cosy & quaint but still had a spacious feel about it. The staff were friendly & we have no complaints there. The food however didn't live up to our expectations we had after reading the menu. It was very ordinary & certainly nothing special. However, because we loved the setting & the service was good we returned for a second dinner the following evening, so it can't have been all that bad. The first evening I had a tomatoe pasta dish which was very dry & was screaming out for more sauce. The second evening I had crab cakes which were advertised as their specialty but I found them rather tastless & soggy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW MO
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I ordered shrimp and scallops per the waitress' suggestion. I was disappointed - the shrimp were fine (all 3 of them) but the scallops were overcooked. The sauce was fair. It was our most disappointing dinner during our one week stay in SF. Our waitress had too many tables (not her fault) and had difficulty keeping up with them all. I would suggest spending the extra money and go to Scoma's for seafood - it was well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bad service, terrible shrimp scampi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Had shrimp scampi - prawns were fresh, but sauce was basically gravy - pretty sure it was made with canned chicken broth.
My husband had a chicken dish - cannot recall the name - chicken breast with a lemon caper sauce - it was delicious.
Sourdough bread was good.
Service was ridiculous. Our server spent our entire dinner standing and visiting loudly with friends people at the next table. She briefly interrupted her loud visiting with a quick run to the kitchen to pick up food, literally drop it on our table or those around us, and run back to visit. It was annoying on many levels...poor service (no offer of second drinks, no check to see how the meal was, or anything else). She became briefly attentive when she delivered our bill.
Would definitely not recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompei's Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Pompei's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompei's Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.