We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find on Fishermans Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompei's Grotto

Pompei's Grotto
340 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1194 (Fisherman's Wharf)
(415) 776-9265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #908 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice find on Fishermans Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Early dinner Sunday evening. Wharf crowded but quiet here. Service efficient and pleasant. Food very good, large portions. I had Grilled Scallops with fingerling potatoes and broccoli. All done very well. Hubby grilled Salmon with same potatoes and broccoli also very good. Good value for wharf area. Would recommend if at the wharf. They also off validated parking at Jefferson and Taylor lot. 2 or 3 hour free depending on arrival. Very good find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    177
    65
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We ate dinner here. We had the bruchetta, dungeness crab with linguini, fish and chips, side salad, and Pacific Rock Cod. Every thing was good. The service was fast and the ambiance quiet and restful. After a day of bike riding it was heaven to us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hit the Spot, But Might Have Opted for Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went to Pompei's for dinner after a long day of traveling from the east coast. The staff at the Courtyard recommended it so we thought we might as well give it a try since it was close and we were both exhausted and starving. I had the Filet of Sole and my husband had the Fettuccine Gamberetti. We both enjoyed our meals and thought the portion size was a fair balance between skimpy and overly generous. I wouldn't necessarily rave about the food, but it wasn't inedible or disappointing either. The server was pleasant and kept our water glasses filled. The ambiance is okay, but not striking. They clearly didn't bring in a professional decorator. The restaurant was about three-quarters full at dinner time on a Thursday evening, so no wait. It didn't strike me as either incredibly clean or noticeably dirty either. Just thoroughly average, though I may have been too tired to be properly observant. If we had more energy, we probably would have wandered around the area a little more and chosen somewhere else, but we certainly weren't regretting having dinner at Pompei's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ideally located with a surprising atmosphere and location. See the sights of Fisherman's wharf and then stop in for a good meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grotty is the new name !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just landed starving looked good but that's where it stopped food was all stuck together and moved as one when you tried to cut it apart ! No atmosphere at all and come to think of it nobody else in the place ! Alarm bells must of been on silent! Perhaps 10 hours jet lag may of been reason ! Cleanliness , hairs on the side plate you get the picture ! Oops not one to ever rush back too.
One positive location great.
Gary

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompei's Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Pompei's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompei's Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.