We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Seafood... a winning combo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cioppino's

Cioppino's
400 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1315 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
+1 415-775-9311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #472 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Leavenworth
Transit: Hyde Street Cable Car - 1 block F Line - 1 block #19 Bus - 2 blocks #30 Bus - 2 blocks #47 Bus - 2 blocks
Description: A Fisherman's Wharf Tradition. Fresh seafood and Italian fare, located right in the heart of it all. The best Cioppino in the city. Great food at reasonable prices.
Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Italian Seafood... a winning combo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Calamari was great, chowder in a sourdough bowl always a good choice, and the daily specials were great...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    395
    171
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for some good food after dropping off our rented car after a long day at Muir Woods and the Golden Gate Bridge and found it here. We were eating an early dinner (4:30) since our toddler didn't get to take a nap, so the restaurant was pretty empty. The waitstaff was very friendly, eager to help, and understanding of our constant need to take our crabby toddler outside for a timeout when he was misbehaving. We had the mushroom ravioli with Italian sausage and the three cheese tortellini with crabmeat added. The food was perfectly cooked and the taste was irresistable! The crabmeat was so tender and flaky, and the garlic sauce was amazing. Our toddler's grilled cheese and fries were nothing to write home about, but it was just what he wanted. If we're ever back in the area, we would definitely eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only for seafood lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere nice, a little dark, but not as loud as most places. If u sit in the back You can get a nice view of the pier and Hyde Park..boats and sunset. Food was good, not great..but certainly lots of choices to make on the menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great cioppino with super friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The cioppino is wonderful - hearty with a very flavorful broth. Ridiculous amounts of fresh fish. A large should be shared by 2.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not a Great Dining Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had, a late lunch here one evening in mid March, while on vacation in San Francisco. We were not impressed. The food was terrible and was something that was just thrown together. Neither of us, liked our dining experience. This is not a cheap place to eat so we expected much better food and also a much better service.

The staff were also very average and they need to improve a lot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino's also viewed

 

Been to Cioppino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cioppino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.