We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Indian Food Decent Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pakwan Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pakwan Restaurant
501 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1931
415-776-0160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,127 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Cato Ridge, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average Indian Food Decent Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had the Chicken Tikka Masala and enjoyed it, though I wasn't overly impressed. It wasn't too expensive which was the best part.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    6
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tandoori chicken there is in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I finally came back to Pakwan after eating constantly at my other fav Indian restaurant Chutney across the street. The chicken Tandoori here is very tender compared to Chutney chicken. Naan was great..Except the chai give me an upset stomach..Chai is better at Chutney's. I will go back again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best curry in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm a brit and we like our curries. I have been to a number of curry houses in San Fran and this is by far the best I've come across.

You order your food at the bar and then they call your number out for you to collect it when it is ready. It is more like a canteen than a restuarant but the food is well worth it.

They don't have a drinks license so you need to bring your own - their is a liquor store across the road with a reasonable choice.

Cab there though as parking in this area is pretty impossible especially in the evenings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Indian food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had had bad experiences other places, and thought I hated Indian and Pakistani food, until we ate here with my friend and her Indian fiancé. Everything was delicious! As others have said you order at a counter and then get up to pick up your food. Restaurant was clean, and I enjoyed the tea. The okra was outstanding! It was so good we went back a second time on our trip!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over , The New Age Gypsy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't forget to get those yumm deserts in little plastic boxes in the cooler :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Don't forget to get those yumm deserts in little plastic boxes in the cooler :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakwan Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pakwan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakwan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.