We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flavors in a Cozy Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay

Mandalay
4348 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94118-1316
(415) 386-3896
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Flavors in a Cozy Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Burmese restaurant is very good. I went with a group of friends and there was plenty of food for vegetarians and carnivores alike.

The salads and soups are excellent. Try the Tea Leaf Salad (order two if you are more than 3 people sharing), and the Samusa soup, which is described as "Soup made of bean base, curry leaf, broken samusa, lentil, crunchy yellow bean, cabbage, onion and mint leaf." It is excellent.

I had the Pan Fry Okra Prawns which were very good, the okra is just lightly fried and the prawns were full of flavor.

This is definitely a good place to visit whether you are a novice with Burmese cuisine or an expert, the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent Burmese cuisine, consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family loves this place because the food is consistently excellent. We've gone here occasionally over several years. One night the crowd waiting for a table grew fairly long and one of the owners began offering a glass of wine to those of us waiting. Try one of their salads.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Intersting Cuisine, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. It was a bit out of our way but not far by bus from Golden Gate park. On California Avenue. Mix of Burnese food and other asian foods. Everything we tried was excellent and we will definitely return and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Exotic flavors and tastes.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Make resevations! 415-386-3895 There were a lot of people waiting, we were treated like celebs as we were seated ahead of the many waiting customes. Exotic flavors and tastes combine in this Burmese and Mandarin Cuisine. We stated with the Balada appetizer, a delicious crispy pancake with curry dipping sauce. The Lap Pat Dok, a tea leaf sald with lentil seeds, fried garlic, sesame seeds, and peanuts is an exotic taste delight. Next we ordered the Rangoon Spicy Fish and the Mandalay Special Noodle. Both dishes were perfectly prepared and brought to the table promptly. For the two of us this was more than enough food to have generous left overs for the next day's lunch. The room is cozy with an Asian decor, yet the tables are comfortably spaced. The service was friendly, polite and very efficient.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very busy place - and they close kind of early - seemed like they skipped over us a couple of times in favor of seating 'regulars', but overall a very nice dinner. They did offer complimentary drinks while we waited. Between all of us we tried the satay chicken, egg rolls, mango chicken, basil chicken, mongolian beef, green beans, and coconut rice. What a delicious feast! I would get the green beans to share with any entres - they are worth it - excellent! Food arrived hat and fresh. I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.