We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Won't Leave Hungry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Margarita Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tia Margarita Mexican Restaurant
300 19TH Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-2305 (The Richmond)
(415) 752-9274
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,735 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You Won't Leave Hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our son-in-law found this restaurant when he first moved to SF...he has been going back and sharing this find with friends and families for almost a decade. We really enjoyed our first meal here and would definitely go back again. The portions are huge! Most importantly, each plate is well presented and tastes great! You will need a take-home box!

P.S. We were joking about eating an ethnic meal that might bring on labor for our overdue daughter...six hours later her labor began...just saying!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nothing Like it used-to-be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

While attending the University of San Francisco, many, many years ago, this eatery, near Lincoln Park, was a favorite of we student-bargain-hunters. Entering into the back dining area, brought us into a cave-like atmosphere with dull lighting and poor acoustics. The bathroom was filthy, hardly worth the hand-washing. We sampled the chicken-wing appetizers, ($8.00), that were mushy and smacked of the frozen variety. A sampler ( I think was priced at $12.00) of chile relleno, chicken tamale and chicken enchilada lacked spice, was tasteless. The relleno was coated with spongy batter, not nearly the traditional recipe. The tamale was brick-like and the enchilada not worth eating. With what seemed to be canned refried beans and a lettuce salad accompanied the huge plate of food. Lastly the Margarita was steeped with bottled, overly sweet mix with absolutely no limes. Nothing like I was used to or maybe since my college days, my palate has "graduated". We couldn't finish any of the food presented to us. With much sorrow, we believe that this restaurant is tired and needs a culinary paint job.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My "Go-To" Place in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love, love, love Tia Margarita!
This is a place you go to for home cooked food, generous portions, welcoming staff and the best strawberry margaritas a girl could ever ask for. We always sit in the front section and we've even had a few meals at the bar. Ed is the best host ever. Antonio is the nicest waiter you'll ever meet. The margarita is already ordered when we walk in the door.

I adore everything about this fantastic gem in The Richmond!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Traditional Mexican American”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Like most "Mexican" restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area Tia Margarita is actually "Mexican-American". As such it provides your typical "combination" plates at a great value consisting of a large amount of food.
What really shines, however, are the Margaritas under the steady hand of Frank, the main bartender. They are either shaken or blended. Only, tequila,triple sec and fresh limes are used, no bottled mixes here. Great bar scene, often worth it to take your meal at the bar with a couple of margaritas to loosen you up!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and Food Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a couple drinks before lunch.The staff was very pleasant.Food was excellant.Nice to sit outside looking down into the court yard as you ate.Suggest this is a place to eat.....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Margarita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tia Margarita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Margarita Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.