We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words - meat pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry's Hunan Restaurant

Henry's Hunan Restaurant
924 Sansome St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Telegraph Hill)
(415) 956-7727
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #480 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Hunan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Telegraph Hill
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Two words - meat pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Seriously, one of the best appetizers on the menu. It's crispy outer shell, warm ground meat and cold crunchy lettuce/cabbage make this dish and instant winner. Cut into quarters, each quarter is more than enough as a snack or a very hearty appetizer.

You also can't go wrong with their kung-pao, chicken salad, or any of their pork dishes. Everything is fresh, vegetables have just the right crunch, meat is not over cooked and everything is appropriately seasoned and not greasy.

Consider yourself lucky if you are within delivery distance of one of their locations in SF.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maunaloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You just cannot find a better value in The City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've been eating at this restaurant for over 35 years. I now live awy from Th City and only visit every few months. Last night I took my family there for dinner. We had a big meal - for six people. It was tasty, fast service. and a good time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For years one of my regular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Been going to Henry's Hunan for years. Always been one of my go to restaurants. I have been to three of their locations in the city. Anyway, I have tried just about every dish and I now only order two religiously and that is Henry's Special and the Black Bean Fish with Tofu. For starters the onion cake and pot stickers are always good. To be straight Hunan food is spicy. I mean SPICY. If you don't say anything the food will come spicy. If they ask you how you like it, regular, medium or hot. Unless you like eating your own snot, don't order the spicy. For me, I love spicy but will most always take the regular with an occasional medium. I went here the other day with my daughter and my only complaint is that the prices have gone up over the last 20 years (of course) but that the portions seem to have gotten smaller at the same time. Still a good value for San Francisco and good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great food, savory, fiery, and different from most Chinese food you are used to

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat SPICY chinese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This place is great if you love spicy food. The chef's can make the dish however you like though. Loved the onion cakes and meat pie.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Hunan Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Henry's Hunan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry's Hunan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.