We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Caffe

Michelangelo Caffe
579 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-2801
(415) 986-4058
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #844 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: Bus Stop corner of Union and Columbus: Bus: 45,30 and 8X
Havelock, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The offer of a free appetizer got us through the door but we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I had the spaghetti with white clam sauce, chianti, and the cheesecake. The clams were small but very tasty. My husband had veal saltimbocca which he enjoyed and the service was fine. The food was reasonably priced compared to many in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had remembered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had previously eaten here on a prior trip several years ago and wanted to try it once again. A young man outside said his father made the pasta fresh each day as it is a small family run restaurant. My wife did enjoy her lobster ravioli and I had their lasagna which was just OK; however, we are not sure if we would return again as there are better choices within the North Beach area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Okay food - terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food was pretty basic Italian food that was adequate. My eggplant parm was something you could get in frozen form and microwave. My wife's chicken was overly breaded and crispy - with little taste on its own. The prices were a bit high for what we got -- each of our entrees was $16 even though they were not large or good. But the worst part was our waiter. He walked past our table 10 times and never once looked to see how we were doing -- he was watching a TV on the wall. He never offered us grated cheese on our entrees -- everyone else in the restaurant was offered it. I had to flag him down to get a refill on water and a glass of wine. We waited and waited for him to clear our dishes and get our check. There are plenty of other better restaurants on the same street to go to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Great little Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were enticed in by the usher, advising his Dad had made the pasta by hand for the past 15 years.
The service was friendly and unhurried, especially as the restaurant was completely packed out. The handmade pasta was tasty and filling, the Veal also looked excellent.
When going to the restroom you do get to pass the kitchen and see the chefs at work, the food is great quality for the size of the place. The lights are on the outside of the toilets, so be prepared to be plunged into darkness if someone hits them by mistake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What a disappointment .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were in a hurry to grab a meal and this was the only place without a wait. Should have known. Only thing I can say that is positive is that beer and wine are reasonably priced. The food was not good at all. Nothing tasted fresh, and if you are okay with grabbing the free gummy bears from the plate that has probably been in front of every guest that evening, then you must have a great immune system

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelangelo Caffe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Michelangelo Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.