We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice little surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Prague

Cafe Prague
424 Merchant Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
(415) 627-7464
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,059 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Eastern European, Central European, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Financial District
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a nice little surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Surprised to find a great cafe in an alley in SF--just like you might in Europe. Food was well prepared and generous portions, the beer was great, and the service cheerful and attentive. Good value, but bring cash as they don't do credit cards. They do have an ATM in the hall, though.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reminds me of E. European bars.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

The food was very good, try the split pea soup! The service was excellent and the prices were good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is one of my favorite places in the city, fair prices, good food and a family feeling. Czech out a great lineup of beers including Staropramen and Spaten.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Happened upon this restaurant in an alley around the corner from Club Quarters. The menu is very limited - soups, salads, a few hour de vours, but the food is excellent. Had the best tomato soup ever and organic to boot. Salad presentation was great and enjoyed a very generous glass of wine. Decor is meant to feel like Prague and the waiters appear to be Czech, I assume speaking the native language. Price is also very reasonable. I'll be back on my next business trip.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Financial District!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Great affordable menu and lots of choices. I stopped in here for a late night snack. Very european atmosphere and ambience. Better than I could have expected. I ordered an egg salad sandwich on multi grain bread which was paired with a lovely tomato soup that had gnocchi in it. Generous portions and only in the $10 range for both. Waiter/Bartender was friendly and efficient. He fixed the sandwich while I sat at the bar. The soup was great, too. Just right in the latter part of the evening! Lots to choose from on the late night menu. I asked about coming back for lunch and the bartender happily gave me the menu for review. Outstanding choices and great prices when you consider the high prices in San Francisco. Cash only and they have an ATM onsite which only has a $2.00 service fee! Wow. The owner sat next to me and is a native of Prague. I told him that I was quite impressed with his menus and the quality of the food. I saw Salad Nicoise, Goulash, Soups, Sandwiches, Polish sausage w/sauerkraut, Lox on bread, desserts and cheese plates. I cannot wait to go back and try most of that luscious menu. I felt like I was in Europe without the high prices. A much healthier alternative to eating pizza or subs at any time of the day or night!!!! Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Prague also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.