We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market
39 Pier Ste M210, San Francisco, CA 94133-1023
(415) 781-4867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #292 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Smithfield, Utah
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a fun night at the Pier with daughter who had never eaten shrimp before. Bubba Gump's made her a believer. Food was good overall, not great but it was worth a one time visit. Prices were a little steep but the atmosphere was fun. Got stumped on the movie trivia. Will have to go back and watch it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    511
    188
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had lunch here on April 2nd. Because so many people were on Spring Break, the Pier and all the Restaurants were pretty crowded. We got seated right away and had a great table with a view of the Bay and Alcatraz. Service was great, Food and Drinks were great, and I highly recommend this Restaurant. It is loud and it is great for families, but we are used to loud, so we're not complaining! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the only place we eat at on pier 39, love the atmosphere servers are great even playing a game between tables about the movie... Drinks are awesome try the new starburst mix drink its so tasty:-) i also order the bucket of boat trash(not sure if im saying it right) but the cajun spiced fish is the best!!! Getting a seat might take a while but u can call for reservations or when u first walk in the door to get ur name on the waiting list... if their open seats around the bar area u can immediately sit down(not everyone knows this so they wait to b seated) so yes this place is delicious!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stupid is as stupid does”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you go to pier 39 you have to get to bubba Gump restaurant
Get the corona Rita and a casserole of seafood
You will never forget it and you get out of there not at all hungry
Good and plenty !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went with hubby and adult daughter for hubby's 63rd birthday on a Friday night. The wait was about 25 minutes.
As expected, the place was very loud and boisterous; wait was worth it as we got a platform table with a gorgeous view of the Bay and the Bay Bridge which is all lit up at night now.
My daughter's po boy and hubbys shrimp plate were good; my "dixie fishwich" was bland/doughy tasting, really lacking flavor.
I kicked myself for not getting the shrimp tacos...I am sure they would have been a better choice.
Wait staff was attentive..asking all the Bubba questions and really putting on the hard-sell to buy a "landrys" dining card..etc etc.
I thought the prices were a little high for what you got..and the alcohol drink prices...fuggetabout it; but that's par for the course at any "theme" restaurant.
For sure, this eating establishment is much more geared to families than "couples."
Would I go again? Probably not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.