We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - decent food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firenze By Night

Firenze By Night
1429 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)
(415) 392-8485
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service - decent food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very authentic service in this place. Friendly staff. The food was well prepared but not "mind blowing". If in the area again I might venture and try something different. Again...nothing bad just not compelling enough to call it a "must do" when in San Fran.

I had the house gnocchi and son had homemade fettuccini alfredo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    66
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The real deal--get in here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The reviews are correct--this is like eating in Florence or Venice, but without the transatlantic flight! Gnocchi to swoon over, DELISH eggplant, and a waiter as Italian as daVinci!! Loved it and can't wait to return!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gnocchi Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I travel often and love Italian food. I always judge a restaurant by 2 dishes Gnocchi and Tiramisu The Gnocchi here was one of the best I have ever tried, nothing beats Nonna's, but this came very close. They were all out of Tiramisu so next time I'm in San Francisco I will have to try it. Service was excellent all round a fantastic dining experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was told to try this place by a friend who lives in San Francisco. She was spot on. The gnocchi was amazing. The entire evening was great from the owner greeting us kindly at the door to the servers who couldn't be any nicer! Looking forward to going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We came here for a late dinner on a Sunday night at the recommendation of our hotel's front desk staff. Since it was late (and Easter Sunday), the restaurant was not too crowded, which was perfect. We started with bruschetta (not realizing there would be a bread basket coming out shortly!) and it was all delicious and fresh. For entrees, we had gnocchi in tomato sauce and tortellini with peas and proscuitto in a cream sauce- both were fantastic! We somehow managed to save room for caramel pudding for dessert. Food and wine were reasonably priced and our server (I don't think I caught his name) was super friendly and helpful. This was the perfect dinner for the last night of our trip and I would come back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firenze By Night also viewed

 

Been to Firenze By Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firenze By Night, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.