We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albona Ristorante Istriano

Albona Ristorante Istriano
545 Francisco St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1803 (North Beach)
415-441-1040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach
Cross street: Taylor & Mason Sts.
Transit: Last stop of the Powell-Mason Cable Car Line at Taylor and Francisco Sts. (1/2 a block away). No. 30 Bus stops at Columbus Ave. and Francisco St. (1 & 1/2 blocks).
Lloydminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a small and cozy dining experience. Starting with the reservation, to the greeting and then the dining, it was similar to coming to an old acquaintances home. The tables are very close to each other so it could get noisy depending on the crowd. The service was outstanding, the food fantastic and the experience wonderful!
(My highlight for the food was the rabbit)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    52
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great restaurant, service was great, we arrived just before closing and they were very happy to seat us. Food is great. Would recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“North Beach find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

bit surprising location, but food and service were excellent. seats about 40. try the carmelized pear and Gogonzola appetizer- delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thanks to all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor we too enjoyed a wonderful meal on March 17 at Albona. Not only great food but wonderful, friendly service. We began our meal with a Prosecco, then my husband had a Pinot Nero from Northern Italy. His starter was carmelized pear with gorgonzola cheese and a nice sauce, then the veal shank. I loved the asparagus soup (creamy, minus the dairy) followed by cheese ravioli in a butter and sage sauce. We ended with the raspberry sorbet and caffe. What a perfect ending to our weekend visit in San Francisco.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs British Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I were able to walk here with is a bonus .
We were greeted by the friendly staff and even though we had reservations we were given a choice of tables.
The soup of the day was asparagus and delicious. We shared a salad and I had the lamb and my husband the veal shank both great choices.
We were too full to enjoy their dessert.
We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albona Ristorante Istriano also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Albona Ristorante Istriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albona Ristorante Istriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.