We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere, food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forbes Island

Forbes Island
Between Pier 39 and 41, San Francisco, CA 94133-1009 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
415 951 4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Californian, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is on a barge in SanFran Bay area. You take a boat to the restaurant, which has a lighthouse you can walk up and get great views, there are two dining rooms on the main floor and one in the hull of the barge. You can feel the barge sway from the wake of other boats which is neat. Food was great, definitely worth stopping by if visiting SanFran.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    44
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Calling all foodies, tourists and locals alike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Yes it is by the sea lions and the uber tourist spot in the Bay Area BUT don't let this make you shy away and miss a wonderful dining experience! What a gem on the bay with the best views SF has to offer from the lighthouse! Mr Forbes created a dinning experience that should not be missed! The chef artfully prepares delicious dishes and the service rivals any top tier establishment! Any one that says the choices are "restricted" obviously has never owned a boat! There is something for everyone and everything we had was delightful, including Casey our server. The decor is reminiscent of the dinning room on a wealthy pirate ship below and rooms upstairs like glass tiki rooms with cosy fireplaces. Walk up to the top of the lighthouse for incredible views of the city by the Bay! DO NOT MISS THIS!, this is what memories are made for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My kids had read about this place and were just begging to go. We decided to take my son there for his birthday, and we were so excited. The restaurant really lived up to our expectations. We boarded the shuttle and headed to the island. It was bigger than we expected and it's really well designed. It's basically a barge decorated to look like an island. We went to the top of the lighthouse, and luckily it was a beautiful sunny day in SF, so we had absolutely magnificent views of the bay and the city. You could see Coit Tower as clear as day. We headed downstairs and were really lucky to sit in front of the fireplace after the chilly boat ride and views from the top of the lighthouse.

The food was awesome...the seafood chowder was hearty and tasty; we all enjoyed it. Our party tasted the short ribs, lamb lollipops, sole (catch of the day) and the Denver steak, and everybody left more than satisfied. The potato croquets are awesome. We had the chocolate and hazelnut mouse cake, which was to die for. Our waiter provided excellent service and was very friendly as were the bus boys. Exceptional food, service, and experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lau
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, restricted choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We took the ferry to this "island" restaurant. The island is really a very well decorated barge/boat including waterfall and fireplace. The decor is five stars. The menu and bar choices were quite limited. I indulge in fine whiskeys, and many of my favorites were indeed on the bar. I believe hat they were simply for show, however, because no matter which bottle I selected the manager told me that delivery would be "tomorrow." The waiter is extremely attentive and tried his best to accommodate our dietary requests. The cuisine is indeed very good, but certainly not extraordinary. This restaurant relies on its ambience rather than its substance, hence my review.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Floating Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Simply great food, one of a kind ambiance & experience, & friendly, attentive staff. A must try once if live in the city & a must visit when in San Francisco. Keep in mind that this is a floating restaurant not a actually island - if you get seasick plan ahead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbes Island also viewed

 

Been to Forbes Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forbes Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.