We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sodini's

Sodini's
510 Green St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3906 (Telegraph Hill)
(415) 291-0499
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Telegraph Hill
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the best Italian food I've ever had. Home made pasta so tender you can't believe it. The bartender was "heavy handed", a good thing, and the food was delicious. Be prepared for tight seating, tables close together, and noise, but well worth it. I'd go there again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food, service and atmosphere were all wonderful! The place is small and can get kind of loud with people talking, but my wife and I absoutely loved it. I had the chicken parm with noodles and my wife had the veal parm with gnocchi. She said it was the best gnocchi she has had outside of Italy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Two of us ate here and we both really enjoyed our meals. The moment we were seated, someone brought bread with a bowl for olive oil and water. Our waitress came over shortly and checked on us just the right amount. We were unfortunately not hungry enough for appetizers and dessert, but the entrees were good sized portions. We had the gnocchi with spinach and the cannelloni. The gnocchi wasn't what we were expecting but she said it was excellent. It didn't seem to have the traditional potato heaviness but it was not missed. I has the cannelloni with cheese and spinach. It was very light on spinach but was very good. The main courses were about $15-$17 each for the pasta dishes, meat obviously a little higher.

We aren't here in SF long enough to return, but definitely would have if our stay had been longer. Unless you are really hungry or have a big appetite, I suggest planning to take home half your dinner so you can have the soup and dessert. I wish I did, but that's too difficult when you're in a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were heading for a different North Beach Italian, but our taxi driver suggested here, we were a bit sceptical of his recommendation at first, but as soon as we stepped in the place we knew we were in for a treat. The smell of garlic emanating from the open fronted kitchen hits you first, then as you step into the cosy restaurant, the ambiance, and the charm of the staff make you feel very welcome, to what could be on first impression a "locals only" place.

The restaurant was nicely busy, no rush from the staff, the kids were allowed to draw on the table cloth which provided plenty of amusement

As for the food, it was very good between us we had steak, chicken and pizza, washed down with a bottle of Chianti was excellent. Topped off with a very good espresso, a perfect San Francisco Italian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“SF classic, visitor friendly, neighborhood feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Unpretentious little bar-restaurant in North Beach. Boldly, unapologetically old, very welcoming, warm, friendly, helpful staff. Great pizza and Italian standard offerings, served in generous portions at a very fair price. Full of both locals and tourists, and each is glad to see the other. This place is an "always gotta go there" stop for us when we visit the City!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sodini's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sodini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sodini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.