We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned and operated = amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Franchino

Ristorante Franchino
347 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907 (Chinatown)
415-982-2157
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
1 review
“Family owned and operated = amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Seated by the owner, served by his daughter, food cooked by his wife. Amazing food and amazing personal service. The atmosphere makes you feel right at home and her gnocchi was to die for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good North Beach Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ate here with a couple of business colleagues based on one of their recommendations. Overall a very good experience and very good food. This is a small mom, pop and daughter operation. Homey and comfortable. The owner, Franco, greets and seats you and makes you feel like family. Even remembered my colleague from a prior visit a couple years back. Mom and daughter handle the waiting and are lovely people as well. The meal was very good, homestyle Italian. Decent wine list with some good Italian wines at good price points. Highly recommended for a North Beach Italian meal/experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic homemade italian!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great little cozy restaurant. Excellent service. Fresh food that's not to heavy or oily. Love the eggplant and the gnocchi. One of my favorite places to visit in the city. Family owned and operated...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stumbled into this place in North Beach on a rainy Saturday night, and wow are we happy we did. This is a small family-run restaurant and the food was unbelievably great. My wife had the gnocci with gorgonzola sauce and it melted in our mouths. I had a papardelle with sausages/mushrooms/peppers in a tomato-cream sauce. This meal ranks among the best we've ever had. And not only was the food outstanding, but the atmosphere was great too. Seems like the entire family was working. The father was greeting customers while his wife was moving around the room and talking to happy faces. Their daughter was the waitress and I'm assuming their granddaughter brought us the check. We will go back; many times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Little Find In North Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Too late to get a reservation at any of our chosen Italian restaurants in SF, we happened upon Ristorante Franchino. Very small eatery in North Beach, there were a few people waiting on the street outside. The owner was at the door and informed us, with a huge smile and heavy accent, that it would be about 30 minutes to wait. We ordered a bottle of wine, which he delivered to us with two glasses on the side walk. So, we stood with others bottle and glasses in hand and enjoyed the jovial owner speaking with anyone that would listen. When seated we were met with prompt and courteous service. We ordered appetizers of Caprese and Mussels in Spicy Red Sauce. The Caprese was run of the mill and the Mussels were excellent down to the crusty bread used to "sop" up some of the Spicy Red Sauce.
Entrees of Gnocchi in Gorgonzola Sauce, Pesto Gnocchi, and Eggplant Parm were all superb. Fresh made Gnocchi and sauces. The Eggplant was actually grilled before being placed in the dish, as opposed to fried. Excellent is the best description. Dinner was followed by homemade Tiramasu and Cheesecake. Finishing touch of a Sicilian Dessert Wine. What a great find! Will definitely go back. One note. You can get beer and wine at Franchino (nice selection with very fair prices) but don't look for a cocktail as they do not have liquor license.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Franchino also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ristorante Franchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Franchino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.