We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the selection of chowders..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar

Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar
471 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 771-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #483 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hyde Street
Transit: We are 2 blocks away from the F line stop at Jones St. and Beach St.
Description: Serving casual San Francisco fare and a large helping of Gold Rush Era ambiance, the Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar makes its home in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. A menu, priced for the whole family, features fresh seafood with a regional focus and a great kids' menu. Diners will find distinctive homemade chowders served from steaming cauldrons in three different size bowls, including a traditional bread bowl. Also offered are such savory selections as Fresh Oysters on the Half Shell, Whole Dungeness Crab and Cioppino. A full bar specializes in a wide selection of beer and California wines, Irish Coffee and ocean-themed cocktails... guaranteed to promote mermaid sightings. Come in and listen for the siren songs of the legendary Blue Mermaid.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Try the selection of chowders..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very close to fishermans wharf and a very good location and restaurant. They had 3 types of chowder and the one they are most famous for was the winner. Also give the cold seafood plater ago....very nice and reasonably priced.....also very good service..enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    254
    109
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

i had the crab and corn chowder and it was to die for. I could have eaten that all day and been a happy camper. The apple pie dessert was also fantastic. Our server was so friendly and very helpful in explaining the different types of chowder.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great Chowder, awful Crab Roll”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited as part of a large party.
I had the "award winning" Dungeness Crab and Corn Chowder, which was very tasty and well flavoured. My main though was terrible, Dungeness Crab Roll, described as "Green onion-tarragon dressed". The dressing completely destroyed the delicate crab flavour. All I could taste was a sharp dressing. A real insult to the quality of the core ingredient. A colleague had the Parmesan Crusted East Coast Scallops, which suffered a similar fate. Those who had the fish and chips were happy though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great escape from the touristy surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was so happy to find this restaurant in the Fisherman's Wharf area where typically the dining options are quite touristy and not often what I was looking for. The Blue Mermaid has a much more "normal" dining feel - less like a tourist trap. We were freezing (SF style) near the cable car stop and ducked into the Blue Mermaid - inside looks a bit like a family restaurant/ micro brewery. The striped "gondola style" shirts of the waiters serve as reminders to the Wharf location, but otherwise the atmosphere was laid back and friendly. Service was good. I was happy to find Manhattan Chowder on the menu in addition to the standard New England. And it was delicious. The kids easily found dishes to order as well. We all enjoyed our meal! Would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowden, AB, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“have the chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had dinner there our first night and breakfast our last morning. Very good food, good service. Didn't have to wait either sitting time. Dungeness crab and corn chowder is award winning and DELICIOUS!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.