We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good servers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Drive-In - Lombard

Mel's Drive-In - Lombard
2165 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2712
415 921 2867; 415 921 3039
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #456 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
1 review
“good servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I wiil give 5 stars to the servers and cooks they work so hard, they work under a lot presure. I went to eat last thursday the manager was a crizy lady, I felt so bad I was sitting by the kichen when I heard the manager yelling to the servers, they were so busy look like they were short on staf. the manager in crizy voice was yelling ranners, ranners, one of ther servers was carring the drinks and the manager told her put it dowm, ther server try to explaind to her that she have to run the drinks but the customer were waitting for the drink and one more time the manager yelded the server do what I said.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    95
    112
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hot fudge sundaes late at night are a hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Typical diner food - but open all hours makes it a great place to hit when you want a hot fudge sundae after midnight. Not expensive - comfort food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A proper diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I love a proper old school diner, and this is just the ticket. Decent food in a good atmosphere and quick service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Classic Diner Atmosphere & Healthy Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I ate here twice over a 4 day period and went with the healthy option for 1 breakfast and something more traditional southwester/mexican for the other. Both were very satisfying in their own right. Solid value for money and a great throw back to the diner era.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“As a diner-fan, Mel's is just a great American diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First, let me say that I'm a big fan of diners. They're one of my favorite genres of restaurant even though they often don't get a great rap. I've been eating at Mel's in SF for probably twenty-five years or more. I love it. For me, it's an absolutely perfect and absolutely classic American-style diner. I wouldn't recommend every single thing on the menu, nor would I suggest it's always what's going to hit the spot. But for consistently awesome American diner food in San Francisco with a little juke box at your table and a vaguely distracted but pleasant waitress or waiter, any Mel's will do. I like this one because it's perfect to meet friends at from out of town since the location is easy to find, and the parking is pretty good too.

Generally, I might recommend any of their sandwiches, but the turkey club with no bacon and avocado is standard. I'm not so crazy about their salads. Their breakfasts are just right. They make a mean, mean milkshake and root beer float. I also like their veggie burgers. Sometimes, just a grilled cheese sandwich is the right thing.

Quick, easy, consistent, not expensive, and you can listen to the Shirelles while eating. It's a slightly kitschy, feel-good sort of restaurant. So go try it. Feel good. It's sort of like a brief trip back to the 1950's that is on the edge of convincing. All the Mel's in SF are about equal in my view this way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Drive-In - Lombard also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mel's Drive-In - Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Drive-In - Lombard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.