We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Drive-In - Lombard

Mel's Drive-In - Lombard
2165 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2712
415 921 2867; 415 921 3039
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #601 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Solid food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

They have great service with good food. Very clean and staff is attentive. Food is ol fashion American with a up to date presentation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    149
    50
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“50's Style Diner - The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place was on my must visit list while in San Francisco and we chose the Lombard Street Mel's because it was closest to our hotel and we could likely walk to it.
We ended up walking to it from The Crookedy Street, higher up Lombard, which was a fair stretch but it was worth every step.
The interior certainly reflects the 50's style that I visualised and the music from that era, playing throughout our meal, added to the ambience.
We visited at about 3.30pm and as you might expect it was fairly quiet at that time with just a couple of other tables being served.
Service was timely and friendly and the food was good. I had the NY sandwich and the wife the house burger and we were both hapy with the meals brought to table.
This visit was not altogether about the food though, it was about the experience. I wanted to experience that bygone era and this place delivered in style. I loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inspiration, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“weak but food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

the waiter has brusque attitude, as if people like being opposite point of view. Food was ordinary, nothing special good or bad.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Really good burgers, milkshake, and service.
Good location away from the rest of the tourists at Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor replica of 60s diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The chicken was missing and I was only served bones battered with a strangely sweat mixture. The salad was tired and served with an overly sour dressing. The juke box looked good but didn't work. Four wait staff too many. Other than that. It was OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Drive-In - Lombard also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Drive-In - Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Drive-In - Lombard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.