We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zarzuela

Zarzuela
2000 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1718 (Russian Hill)
415-346-0800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 5,041 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in the mood for something light and decided on tapas. This restaurant had great reviews and was close to our hotel, so we tried it and were very pleased with our dining experience. The front of the restaurant was packed, it was around 6:00. Luckily, there was no one in the back seating area and we got to be in a quieter part of the restaurant. We shared the grilled eggplant stuffed with goat cheese (my favorite), grilled dates with almonds wrapped in pancetta (also very tasty), and grilled squid with aioli (so fresh!). For dessert, we shared the chocolate cake, caramel custard, and rice pudding, all of which were divine!! Their sangria is the BEST, and my husband who visited Spain for a period of time, said it tasted exactly like what he had there. The owner is from Spain, and the entire meal exhibited his authenticity to the country's flavors. Can't wait to come back to SF and eat here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The tapas here are the best we could find in San Francisco. Not everything was perfect, though. The shrimp in one of the dishes did not seem fresh, but rather frozen. Overall very tasty food. The location is very nice as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“spanish tapas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we found this recommendation on trip advisor and came along one night, walking from our hotel. no reservations accepted, so we came around 7:00 and were seated right away. mixed crowd, young and older. all older, male servers, we were looked after well. we shared a salad, and from a cast iron pan, mushrooms, sausages, pork tenders on a skewer, all good. also had bread and olives before and coffee after. the décor looks quite dated and is not that attractive. nice high ceiling and tall windows. this place has been open for 19 years and obviously has a formula that keeps them so popular with locals and tourists alike. it felt a bit "stiff", formal? possibly just my mood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh my freaking god. This place is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Small restaurant with authentic spanish feel. The food is amazing and I'd recommend the 'Calamares A La Plancha Con Aioli'. It is absolutely PERFECT. The service is wonderful and the ambience is magical. Great food, good date spot. Mind-blowing tapas!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really fun evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife took me here for my birthday at the recommendation of our son in law and daughter ( who joined us and did the ordering). It was great fun and a new eating experience in the city. Tucked away on Hyde Street it was packed to the gills and they do not take reservations so we had a bit of a wait. Tip. Be patient and wait for a table in the front of the restaurant.

It is loud and busy but that is part of the charm. We shared about five different taps and finished it off with paella.....excellent. A carafe of sangria was the perfect beverage to go along with this casual, fun and very San Francisco dining experience.

I, sure we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarzuela also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Zarzuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zarzuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.