We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Restaurant

Matterhorn Restaurant
2323 Van Ness Ave, Ste FRNT, San Francisco, CA 94109-1829 (Pacific Heights)
415-885-6116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matterhorn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,261 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Several Muni bus stops nearby.
foster city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our 4th visit in ten years. The other three visits were four star experiences. I would give this a minus star if it was possible . We were seated in an alcove with three other tables, one of which was covered with dirty dishes, used silverware, and a napkin on the floor, under the table......during our entire meal. Mid way thru our meal, the diners on our other side finished and left..........their used dishes, silverware, and napkins stared at us for the rest of our meal. The waiter seemed to have an attitude.....not friendly at all. She forget 1/2 our main order, then asked if we still wanted it??? We ordered the fondue......certain items need to be brought to the table at, or close to the same time. We had an inordinately long wait between some items tht should have arrived simultaneously. Several times the servers looked our way from across the room.....as if checking on us.....but never explained the delays or made any effort to get our order to us.My daughter asked for a refill for two of the teeny weeny condiment containers. The waiter never mentioned it would b $5.00 per dish to refill. Waitress brought the bill,put it on the table and walked away without a word. We were never rude, never made unreasonable requests, and never complained about the horrible service or the uneven quality of the food. Our bill was $140. for the two of us. We won't be back......

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family has been going to the Matterhorn for nearly 20 years and we have always had a wonderful time. While we usually have the excellent fondues, we also often sample the other Swiss specialties, especially the Wienerschnitzle and rosti potatoes. We also always have a bottle of wine from the excellent wine list.

The atmosphere and cuisine are authentically Swiss, and the service is swift and very friendly. You will be met at the door by Brigitte who with her husband, the chef, own the restaurant. Their care shows in every detail of the operation; it runs like a Swiss watch.

I highly recomment Matterhorn for both locals and visitors to San Francisco for its consistently excellent Swiss cuisine and friendly atmosphere. Kids really love the fodue and that makes this a expecally great family restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Swiss in San Fran!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a wonderful option for more Authentic Swiss fare than going to the melting pot, etc. The Fondue was out of this world, and they even have Raclette on the menu (they heat it for you - you do not do it on the machiene yourself). The owners are really from Switzerland, and the Mrs. actually takes your order and oversees the restauraunt.

Tip: If you are a cheese addict like me, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kitschy but delicious Swiss getaway in the middle of SF...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went here on a whim, craving gooey and delicious fondue. Was really pleased by our experience. While the decor was a bit throwback and kitschy, it's a pretty accurate rendition of what a restaurant in small-town Switzerland is still like today (I go back once a year). The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was wonderful. The fondue was surprisingly lighter than we expected, with lots of flavor. We added the Alpine Delight, because what meal isn't better with cold cuts? A few Swiss draft beers and we ended up satiated and quite happy, all for under $100.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I fondue believe you'll like it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Now, I've had a fair few fondues in my time, as has my cheese-addicted girlfriend, and I can safely say that this was the best fondue we've ever had. It was sooooo good we both ate ourselves into varying degrees of pain, just because we didn't want to stop.

The owner who was also our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable, and genuinely Swiss, so what we got was genuine Swiss fondue (though probably American-sized portions).

The beers they had on tap were great, and the place itself was really nice.

The only problem we had was the woman on the table next to us, who wouldn't stop talking about herself to her date. It was actually quite entertaining laughing about her afterwards, and obviously nothing to do with the restaurant - but she'll definitely help me remember this meal. I can still hear her now, like some kind of inescapable, self-centered tinnitus.

Anyway, back on topic...it was one of the more expensive places we tried in SF, and there are probably better culinary experiences out there, but we really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Matterhorn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.