We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Food, Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gary Danko

Restaurant Gary Danko
800 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1228 (Fisherman's Wharf)
415-749-2060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $70 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A real gem near Ghirardelli Square. What I liked about the meal was that you decided beforehand how many courses you would like; either three, four or five, and the price was fixed according to this choice. The number of items listed for each course was many and the wait staff were experienced in knowing to leave you alone while you went through the variety presented. The food was excellent, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The servers were efficient and also unobtrusive - quite a combination that you don't come across very often. I would very much like to return to enjoy this wonderful restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    190
    93
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reliably wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was my 5th time there, I've always dined at the bar, always with the Chef's tasting dinner with wine pairing. This visit was reliable, but must say the food has slipped a bit...don't know exactly what it was but left much on the plate. This visit was not as spectacular as my previous visits- nevertheless, reliably wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wow! We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Our meal experience here could not have been better! The upscale atmosphere and clientele were high end but not at all snobby. The food was delicious and all meals prepared perfectly. It is the restaurant that we will come back to on each visit to San Francisco

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just by chance we were able to get a reservation at the last minute (someone had just cancelled). We were in luck. This restaurant is very, very nice. The service is the best our group had ever experienced - it is something to be part of. Every individual need and want is addressed and taken care of. The menu choice are outstanding and as is the food presentation. The wine and cocktail selections are great too. The way the meals are presented as course is another big bonus. This place is not cheap, however, on the other hand it is not over the top either. The food is very good. I would not say the best I have ever eaten, but it is in the top five as far as I am concerned. The only issue I have with this establishment, as well as many other fine dinning place, is the noise. Your would expect it to be quieter. Nonetheless, if at all possible, visitors or residents of San Fran must try this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited while staying in San Francisco having booked 3 months ahead of our holiday. The food was excellent, difficult to choose from such a mouth watering menu. We chose to have 4 courses, each one better than the last.
The service was superb, very friendly and very relaxed with great knowledge of the menu.
The restaurant itself is very dark which is ok for dinner I suppose. We were however highly amused by the door men who looked more like bouncers from a nightclub with there baseball caps and bomber jackets! Not sure what that's all about, what happened to a simply suited doorman?
This did not spoil a lovely evening and great food, would love to return if ever in San Francisco again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gary Danko also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Gary Danko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gary Danko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.