We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gary Danko

Restaurant Gary Danko
800 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1228 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
415-749-2060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,595 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $70 - $100
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Gary Danko's is a treat for foodies. The presentation, service and combinations are spectacular. The restauarant is always busy so reservations for sure. We had a party of four and all enjoyed the Prix fixe menu with wine pairings. Awesome. The lobster risotto was the best!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    217
    106
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
474 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Didn't do it for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sorry fellow tripadvisor reviewers but I really can't be as glowing about this as others have been. The reviews give it a great build up but we were really disappointed. The main problem is the space - despite using a lot of mirrors to fool you into thinking this is a big restaurant, it is really very tiny and they have really packed the tables in. We were wedged in between two other tables and could hear more of our neighbours' conversations than our own. At one point, when waiters were serving both adjacent tables, we felt like they were sitting on our laps. And getting out to the toilet was like an obstacle course. I'm really not sure that this would be the right location for a romantic meal for two. The food was excellent in parts but we found it patchy. We had two really good main courses - pork belly and striped bass - but these were counteracted by two so-so starters. The seafood risotto was chalky - it tasted like they had used the wrong kind of rice - and a lobster salad distinctly ordinary. The dessert included a rhubarb tart where the pastry was incredibly dry. May be we just picked the wrong dishes, but the food was only 3 stars in my book. For my taste, the service was a bit cloying and over-attentive - endless refilling of the water glasses for example - but some people obviously like this style. $71 for three courses is pretty good value though and with a bottle of sparkling water and 2 glasses of wine, we paid $200 for 2 before service. Others love it though so perhaps it's just a matter of personal taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

What is there left to say about Gary Danko. It is a truly amazing dinning experience. We had reservations on a Sunday night at 9:00 p.m. and it was jammed packed up until 11:30 p.m. I took the 5 course dinner and it was absolutely fantastic. The only thing I regret was being too full to appreciate the desserts. The service was impeccable. The décor is a bit old but hey, who cares when its that delicious. Yes it is pricey but not overpriced in my opinion. A must do for a special occasion!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food for thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The food was great and the service perfection. Was it the best dining experience? There are other restaurants (a small class) that serve meals that are just as fine and artistic as Danko. The staff however, is hard to beat, because service seems to be a religion witht them. If the restaurant is to be dinged - it would be for the noise and bustle. Not the most relaxing place to enjoy food art on a Saturday evening. Some people would consider this an "exciting" atmosphere. My personal choice would be a little less elbow knocking and not having to shout to be heard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Extraordinary in every way---delicious,food,fabulous ambience and flawless service

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gary Danko also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Gary Danko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gary Danko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.