We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best fish and chips in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Catch

Pacific Catch
2027 Chestnut St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)
+1 415-440-1950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Marina
Description: Pacific Catch is a comfortable West Coast Fish House bringing together local California sensibility and the spirit of island hospitality. happy hour | outside seating | take-out
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best fish and chips in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Tripadvisor definitely brought us to the right place when we were cold and hungry at 9pm. It's a pretty small restaurant with only a few tables, but the service staff were highly efficient. We had the fish and chips, which we regretted ordering only 3 pieces as it was absolutely fantastic! The batter was perfect - not too greasy yet tasty, and the fish was fresh, succulent and deliciously flaky. The calamari was also pretty good, with the lemon zest in the calamari as they fried the calamari and lemon slices together, which made it interesting. Do try this place if you have the chance to!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    101
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I usually don't subscribe to the hype on these things but this restaurant was truly delightful, unsure we would get a table by just turning up we only had to wait about 30 mins and spent the time in a nice local bar and shops, The place is small with only a few tables and an intimate dining experience, the waiter was very friendly and helpful automatically bringing us an apetizer and water as we sat down. For drinks i started with the Thai iced tea, an incredibly creamy concoction of coconut milk and black tea making a strangely orange coloured beverage unlike anything i had ever tasted before.
I chose the catch of the day which happened to be my one of my favourites, Swordfish served with asparagus and peppers, rice and a delicious lemon and tomato based sauce. Paired with a Local Riesling was the perfect crisp and fruity wine to round the meal off. This was 10/10 and one of the best meals of my californian road trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Believe the Recommendations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We read Bobby R's recommendation and decided to give it a try on our last day of vacation. Bobby was right - the staff, the atmosphere, the décor and the food were amazing! We went at lunch and there was no waiting. The swordfish and fish taco plates were some of the best dishes we have ever had! So thanks Bobby and as the title says, believe the recommendations!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the most incredible lunch spots ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Here we were on vacation in San Francisco, hearing about the amazing fresh local seafood. But this place blew apart all expectations. The food is so fresh and delicious. Came back here twice, ordering 2 different signature sandwiches. Both were incredible in their own right. Wish we had this place back home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Belt loosening good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The bad: had to wait 1/2 hr for a table (went for a walk)
The good: everything else! Staff really knowledgeable and friendly, atmosphere cosy, decor great.
Ultimately it's about the food and it's so fresh and yummy! Got pretty much everything recommended by waitress and it was all so fresh and tasty; seared ahi and extra koke in a bowl.. Special of swordfish..calamari..mmmm!
Would highly recommend and definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Catch also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Catch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.