We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese food, convenient neighborhood, good service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Restaurant

Alice's Restaurant
1599 Sanchez St, San Francisco, CA 94131-2329 (Noe Valley)
415-282-8999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #400 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Noe Valley
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food, convenient neighborhood, good service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I attended a humanitarian donors' luncheon with a dozen people and found the Hunan Chinese food in this MUNI-convenient neighborhood to be tasty and fresh with good service and value. The two-page full menu with lunch specials is what we expect from good restaurants in great cities. The meat, fish, and vegetable lovers in our group were all satisfied. The salmon lunch was most popular though I loved my order of scallops in garlic sauce.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food in a pretty restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friend and I ate here early evening about a week ago after doing some urban hiking around the Dolores Heights/Noe Valley, Mission area. I will say that normally I am not a big fan of Chinese food in many restaurants, but this turned out to be a very good meal which we both enjoyed. When we arrived, it was late afternoon/early evening, so the restaurant was rather empty, but soon began to fill up. This is a pretty neighborhood restaurant, lots of light coming in from the windows into nicely decorated rooms with orchids in front of the windows. The service was excellent. There were a number of servers who came frequently to check on us, fill our glasses, etc. The menu is appealing and there were a number of items I would have liked to have tried. One section featured a number of spicier items (my friend does not like spicy food). We ordered two appetizers; vegetarian egg rolls and Alice's cakes (green onion filled fried pancakes). We also ordered the wonton soup which was chock full of fresh veggies in a nice broth. The soup was probably my favorite of the items we ordered. Our main courses included mu shu pork (nicely prepared) and chicken with mixed vegetables (also well prepared). It was alot of food for us, so we took some with us for leftovers. Hot tea came with our meal. The food is inexpensive here. All in all, a very pleasant meal after a day of San Francisco sightseeing. I would definitely recommend Alice's Restaurant for a great Chinese meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food and Family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My 16 month old grand daughter loved her very own, adorable sectioned plate and the friendly attention from the staff. Add quick service and very good food and you have a perfect restaurant for children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The BEST Chinese food EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ordered a large take out order for New Years for a group of 8 people. We sampled many items of chicken, beef, pork as well as noodle dishes and fried rice. The overall consensus was---the BEST Chinese food EVER. They don't deliver but we were able to pick it up for take-out. The prices are quite reasonable as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate qld
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Where's the doggy bag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Menu extremely varied with a tremendous choice. The food is great.
Wine and beer are available. Service, enthuisiastic and quick.
Our first impression was correct. "The Chinese eat here " what better advert, and so right. Of course the amounts served are far too much but Doggy Bags are provided.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.