We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market

Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market
579 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2511 (The Castro)
415-552-7584
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Castro
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

When you arrive, you write your name on the board. Waited about an hour and 15 mins, but it was worth it! Oysters were the freshest I have ever eaten. Lovely Pinot Gris, they happily customized a fish dish for my hubby. Clam Chowder was excellent. We sat at the bar and would have liked a table, but it was still wonderful. The price was very reasonable for

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    49
    15
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and cozy place serving fresh and quality seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's 13:40 (It's 1:40PM for American readers) Saturday afternoon, and there was a short line outside the entrance already. It's a small place with couple of tables and a bar stand. Service was efficient and order was quick since the menu wass straightforward and staff knew what they were doing. Even if it's very crowded inside, we were not forced to share a table with others so that we could really enjoy our own conversations.

We ordered Anchor Special which came with 12 Oysters on the Half Shell, 8 Steamed Clams, 4 Chilled Prawns, a $38.95 treat good for two protein chasing and carb-avoiding guys. We could see they were prepared in a kitchen just feet away. Also served is Steamed Black Mussels ($17.95). Both the mussels and clams are cook with abundance of white wine, making your mouth watering. I hate the granular sands in clam dishes sometimes end up between your teeth. None I found here. Safe to chew.

Definitely a good place to visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gotta try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were with a native, so knew enough to get here early. What a meal and in such a quaint place. The seafood was so fresh, and I have never had such good crab cakes in my life! I hate standing in line, but would definitely do so at this restaurant – it would be well worth the wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The right place if you adore seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This tiny restaurant serves the most wonderful seafood I have ever had. The cioppino is fab, and one portion is enough for two people. The crab cakes are the best I have ever tasted. The staff make you feel very welcome - almost like home. The restaurant is very small - maximum seating is 20 persons. You can not make a reservation, but you put your name on a board outside the door. Then you will be called when there is a table ready.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were visiting a friend in San Francisco and my lady wanted seafood... so our friend took us to this resturant. We did need to wait a bit for a seat... actually we sat at the counter which was fun. As others noted it is a small resturant, but the wait was worth it. The food was terriffic. The staff was friendly is it was simply fun enjoying the food in San Francisco. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.