We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market

Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market
579 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2511 (Castro)
415-552-7584
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castro
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had lunch here while hopping off our bus tour. It is outside and that is nice but service was very slow and getting our food was too. It is highly expensive for what you get. We would not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    45
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Splendid Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Anchor Oyster Bar is tiny, and for seafood lovers only, but the dinner we had there was magnificent. Try to arrive an hour before you want to eat and put your name up on the board outside. Then go have a drink somewhere else. When you come back, you will find everything is delicious. We split a bowl of chowder, followed by two entrees and drank a half litre of the excellent house white. Total bill was $100. This San Francisco gem has been pleasing its regulars for thirty-five years, and it has an historic location--right next door to Harvey Milk's former photo shop and apartment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anchor Oyster Bar has Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We did an online search and saw good reviews so we drove to check it out. Parking in the area is tight and very limited but we found a parking lot a few blocks away and walked, which just added to the overall San Francisco experience. Although it is a tiny place and we had to wait around an hour it was well worth it. The staff is vey friendly and we were even treated to some free and delicious garlic bread to make up for the wait. I would definitely return. Great seafood dishes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely suberb! I'm a visitor from the UK but what a great place for a small gathering with special friends - Think i saw its”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My SF friends took me here when I was over from the UK and I must say every dish we had was superb. Seriously.

The appertiser I ordered was wrong but this was sorted within minutes by our waiter. Actually didn't order then clam chowder??? (this turned out to be a mistake! It was amazing) when my 'Manhattan Style' Chowder arrived - it was really good too and I felt a little guilt. We also had the scallops in breadcrumbs (really good).

If that wasn't enough our mains were the Open Crab and Prawn sandwich. V rich and indulgent but we didn't care!

This experience 10/10 - not just the food, but the attentive service from the floor staff and management - really well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good seafood in the Castro - not great for a large group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Anchor is a Castro favorite and hasn't changed much over the years - always dependably good seafood. It's small and generally cramped so not a great place to appear with a group unless it's off hours.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.