We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Toreador West Portal San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toreador Fonda Restaurant

El Toreador Fonda Restaurant
50 W Portal Ave, San Francisco, CA 94127-1304
(415) 566-2673
Improve this listing
Ranked #897 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Masachapa, Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“El Toreador West Portal San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had been a couple of years since eating here and found everything to be exactly as I remembered it! The ambiance inside is cheerful with all of its colors. The service was very attentive! We started with a couple of margaritas rocks which were very good and which helped to wash down the tortilla chips and green verde and chipotle sauces. I ordered the combination plate of a chile relleno and beef enchilada which comes with rice and beans and some greens. Very tasty! My friend ordered a combination plate of shredded beef taco and shredded beef enchilada with the rice and beans. They were accommodating in switching the ground beef to shredded beef for a slight additional charge. All in all, the meal was very good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Fun Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lots of fun...excellent Margaritas! Big servings of typical American style Mexican food. Great place for kids too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The absolute best crab enchiladas anywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've been coming here for the last 32 years and I have tried crab enchiladas in Mexico, all over California and Nevada. These are the best hands down! The order comes with two crab enchiladas in this green sauce and sour cream,rice, beans and salad but I order three. I leave stuffed but totally satisfied. There are beers from around the world ( over 50 I think) excellent margaritas and other drinks. You have to see the decor it reminds me of its a small world and a carnival. So much to see, drink and eat! There are other beautifully presented dishes but this is all I eat plus this secret soup! I don't know what it is made with but it is superb! If you are in San Francisco you need to eat these enchiladas then go see the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's wharf and Chinatown. I'm off to the races... And you never know what I'll review next... Yours truly califaz

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have coming here for years. Busy, recommend make reservations or come early, sign in, then walk around the nearby shops. Everything is good here. Decor is fun, margaritas and chips very good, and soup before meal.

If you have more than four in your group, strongly recommend making reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxmoor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great local Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great find near to where we were staying.
Wish we had found it sooner as the combination of eclectic decor, fabulous beers and frozen margarita suited all the family's taste; throw in good Mexican food, reasonable prices and friendly service and you can't go wrong.
Located in a nice neighbourhood with easy parking (make sure you have enough coins for the meter!)
Comes highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toreador Fonda Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to El Toreador Fonda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toreador Fonda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.