We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zazie

Zazie
941 Cole St, San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 564-5332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Carl and Parnassus
Transit: The MUNI N-Judah train stops on Cole Street half a block from Zazie
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Awesome breakfast! Lil bit of a wait but it was sunny and warm and only 15 min. Busy loud spot but perfect location and menu for breakfast. Everything was great and especially the home potatoes with roasted garlic "wow" !!! Staff were fast friendly and new the menu! I'd strongly recommend eating here but if your party is larger the 4 be prepared to wait for a table but it's worth it!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    119
    66
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“first time visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have tried several French bistros in the city and have enjoyed the individuality of their menus, wine lists and overall ambience.
Zazie offers it's take on classics like duck cassoulet, mushroom ravioli, potato leek soup and many more favorites. The location is residential, not easy to find for visitors to the city, but clearly is highly regarded by the flood of locals arriving on a Tuesday night filling up all tables and many choosing to wait for a spot to open.
We were not disappointed; the cassoulet was rich, flavorful and went well with a dry creek valley GSM that was recommended by our competent, friendly server. The other choices were well prepared, generous sized pasta selections with butter based sauce accompanied with sparkling Vouvray.
Clearly Zazie has a strong local following, most people had reservations but several walk ins also vied for tables outside.
This goes on our list for repeat visits when we're craving French bistro food on a cool San Francisco evening at reasonable pricing. Well done!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great breakfast in quaint patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

as we got there, we saw there were 2 tables outside. a sign said you didn't have to wait for the tables, just sit when it becomes available. We were tempted to take a table when our name got called. So glad we waited! We were seated in the back patio, which you can't see from the front. It's a little cramped, but so beautiful! We got mimosas, which were delicious, french toast, and eggs benedict. very delicious and highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had a combo plate of various pancakes and was amazed by their bread pudding pancakes. Definitely the best of any pancakes I've ever tasted. The place was small but cozy and the staff was friendly and attentive. Coffee was excellent. My wife had a scramble and loved it as well. They had an option to replace home fries with salad, which she appreciated. A+

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The entire experience was amazing....Service impeccable. Start to finish was enjoyable. I highly recommend the breading pudding w/ creme brulee`! WOW!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazie also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Zazie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.