We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Amazing Food--Go here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picaro Tapas Restaurant

Picaro Tapas Restaurant
3120 16th St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Mission District)
(415) 431-4089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 4,669 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mission District
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Amazing Food--Go here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food at Picaro was delicious. We sampled a bunch of the tapas, and we loved everything we tried. We got extra bread at the end to sop up all the sauces left on our plates. The service was a bit slow, but we were not in a hurry, and the quality of the food (as well as the really great prices) made it worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was good and well priced for the portions. I loved the garlic sauce they served with the bread. Unfortunately the service was poor. We were asked once to refill our drinks, never asked if everything was ok, then when we were done we waited 20 minutes for our check as the server wizzed by us not making eye contact or stopping. I hate having to wait for the check when we are clearly done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Llamaface9603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I went there during our trip to San Fran and wanted to watch the spain vs brazil confedartion finals in a proper setting, after roaming around we found this place and surprisingly filled with brazillian supporters! The servers were not that friendly, kind of disregarded us but when we sat at the bar, the lady preparing all the seafood at the bar took very good care of us! The food was amazing! and surprisingly cheap! great sangria!! Definately try the Garlic chicken with potatoes and rice [as recommended by the spanish bartender] and the ox tail stew!
If we go back to San Fran i will definately like to stop by again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sar h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our friends from the area took us here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's one of their favorite places. My wife and I both loved the foods. The wait staff was courteous, helpful and attentive. A great place to go with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwnflfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife says the paella we had (seafood) was top notch, and it certainly tasted great. They have a couple of tables outside which we took advantage of. At times we were forgotten by our server, but overall the experience was a good one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picaro Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Picaro Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing