We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and delicious Caribbean tapas.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Cha Cha

Cha Cha Cha
1801 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117 (Haight-Ashbury)
(415) 386-7670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #564 of 4,562 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Tapas, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Haight-Ashbury
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Amazing value and delicious Caribbean tapas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place has a great variety of hispanic tapas, great bar and drinks. Definitely get the maduros. Coming from a Carribean family, some of these dishes definitely have the flavor of home. I think some of the dishes were a little haphazard and just seemed lacking. Giving it a rating of 4 because the food was probably a 3 on my end (again the maduros were legit but everything else lacking) but 5 for amazing service at the bar and overall!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    136
    37
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ordered too much but enjoyed every bit of it. Great sangria as well. Would recommend the beans and rice with sour cream and either of the quesadilla plates.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looked interesting from outside... Bad !!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bad food... really bad.
Service okay.
Ambience nice.
Price okay.
I will never come back...
I guess for the locals maybe okay as they look they can't afford any better.... This is a bad restaurant full stop. Nothing good about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“:) Very good and authentic food at a decent $$ in Haight Ashbury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Right in the middle of it all. What a great area and this small restaurant was a shot int eh dark that hit a bulls-eye. Had the fish fajita lunch and a local bear. Service was quick and attentive. Also looks like a jewel for night life as there was a second area with a bar but we never got to go back and try the night version. All on the second day of the Federal meltdown... :(

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredible food!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

So we walked from the Ferry Building up to Haight. Yes it was a long walk but if you wanna see SF, thisis a great way to do it. We asked a local a good place to eat when we did get to Haigt. He recmmended ChA Cha Cha, Peruvian food. Tapas.
Are we glad we asked.
The restuarant was a funky, happening place. The decor was warm and inviting. I had the Marinated wings in a guava chipotle chile glaze. I also had the meat loaf. The wings were the best I had ever had. I do not recall what my wife had but she loved her meal as well. I took a pic of my wings and put them on FaceBook. A friend asked if they were from Cha cha cha.... to funny as I did not post the restaurants name. You have to go here if you are in SF. There is another Cha cha cha in the Mission area.

Hope this helps.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Cha Cha also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cha Cha Cha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Cha Cha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.