We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food for Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chabaa Thai

Chabaa Thai
2123 Irving St, San Francisco, CA 94122 (Sunset)
(415) 753-3347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #917 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Sunset
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food for Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I ate at the Chabaa Thai at 420 Geary (by Mason), a convenient downtown location. It's a small hole-in-the-wall restaurant and one you might normally pass right by. If you're looking for atmosphere, this isn't the place. You pass the kitchen as you go in and there are only about 8 tables in a rather spartan environment. The food, however, is top notch and very reasonable. I had Chicken Cashew, which was delicious and served with a rather huge portion of yummy rice. They serve wine and beer. The price of the wine surprised me a bit ($7). The price wasn't on the menu and while that's not that expensive, it did seem out of line given the price of the food and the beer (more in the $4 range). We were there around 4:30 p.m. so there was no problem getting a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great food, fast, and not too expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stopped in yesterday, and while I was shocked at how small the restaurant was, the food was prepared right in front of me and the taste was excellent. However, in my dish there was only 5 small pieces of Chicken. Price for this part of town was reasonable, however, wished there was a little more protein in my meal. The place is VERY small so plan on getting food to go, and then enjoy the rich and authentic flavors. Charging extra for brown rice was absurd, but not enough to take away from the rich flavor of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy flavored thai cuisine in a hole in the wall place with great veg. options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A friend and I were walking up and down Geary street looking for a place to get dinner but didn't come across anything that made us want to stop and go in. We were looking for a place with good vegetarian options but unfortunately none of the places had more than a couple. We walked past Pizza by the slice and didn't even notice this place till we were walking back again towards Pizza by the slice and realized that there was another better option right next doors. The seating is a bit cramped so if you have too much luggage with you it might not fit! But it had a homely feel to it which reminded me of Hong Kong eateries. We got one portion of the Tom Yum soup which they served in a huge noodle bowl and graciously gave us two tiny bowls to serve the soup in, and the vegetable red curry with steamed rice. Unlike the tiny individual bowl size steamed rice in most Asian restaurants, the rice quantity was quite big (Americanized!). The vegetables were fresh and crunchy, the flavor and spice was perfect and having quick hot food on a cold, chilly day just made it perfect. It helped that the prices were easy on the pocket too. :) Definitely worth a visit if Thai is what you want. Also this place is open till 1.00 AM on weekdays and weekends is probably later!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ate at the Geary street location. Tiny little restaurant, maybe 6 tables. Food was cheap and very tasty, hit the spot for lunch for around $8/person. We had Pad Thai and Cashew chicken, both were good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, and QUIET!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wonderful food in this family-run Thai place. Never crowded, always quiet, great food & friendly service. And they deliver!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chabaa Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chabaa Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabaa Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.