We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven of Dungeness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PPQ Dungeness Island

PPQ Dungeness Island
2332 Clement St, San Francisco, CA 94121 (The Richmond)
(415) 386-8266
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #616 of 4,532 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Noodle, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Heaven of Dungeness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The food was great! we ordered different styles of crabs, garlic noodle and some chicken. when it comes to seafood, noone does it better than the Asians :)

Just make sure you reserve a table in advance because the place is really popular.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    44
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food is good - order the complete Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Tried this crab restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. Had no problem getting a fairly last-minute reservation, and when we arrived, we were seated right away. The server was very friendly and helpful - answering our questions about the various flavors. There were three of us (adults)...we ordered the "Dinner for Two" and a side dish of Five-spice Chicken. The Dinner included a (large!) roasted crab (with the garlic butter), but first you get a very tasty Vietnamese shredded cabbage/chicken salad, and four Imperial Rolls...the cabbage was enough for each of the three of us to have an ample serving...and the Imperial Rolls were delicious - light, tasty and perfectly crispy. Then came the (large!) crab...very, very good! Messy...but there were bibs and hot towelettes afterward to clean up with. The Five Spice Chicken was delicious...a great choice to augment the crab dinner, or for anyone who doesn't care for shellfish. The Garlic noodles (also included in the Dinner for Two) were delish - and plenty for the three of us to share. Finally, there was dessert (yes...included!) - lightly battered fried banana pieces served with ice cream. We didn't think that fried bananas sounded appealing when we saw it on the menu, but it was wonderful - and just the perfect sweet ending to the meal. Oh - you can order the Dinner with your choice of crab preparations - Roasted Garlic, Pepper, or Spicy.

The crab a la carte was $40...the complete meal for two, with the salad, the Imperial Rolls, the crab, the garlic noodles, and the dessert, was $54.95...the chicken was about $15 or so...can't remember exactly. Granted, we're moderate eaters, not really big appetites...but still, the three of us were very satisfied...for $70. Maybe too pricey for an every day restaurant, but (IMHO) very reasonable for this type of specialty crab house in SFO.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“BEST Crabs, Amazing Garlic Noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

i Dream of these Garlic Noodles. Constantly. All the time. It's an obsession.
I've been back to PPQ quite a few times recently and I'm appreciating the restaurant even more now!

The crabs here are HUGE. 1 crab for 2 people is More than enough (esp if you get the garlic noodles).
The texture of the crab is firm and sweet; perfect balance.

- Curry Crab: If you like a little gravy with your crab, this is the one for you. One of my faves, the other being...
- Black Pepper Crab: If you like your crab without the mess of gravy, this is the one for you. Just as good as the Curry Crab
- Spicy Crab: It's not very spicy. But good nonetheless
- Roasted Crab: Very garlicky. Not recommended if you're getting a lot of garlic noodles, which leads me to....
- Garlic Noodles: OMG. They're SOOOOO Yummy! You can't just have 1 bowl. I swear
- 5 spice Chicken: Oh, the poor Chicken. It's SO tasty, but we Never have the chance to order it coz we always get SO much crab!

The prices are reasonable (for crab); go with a group or with 1 person- it really doesn't matter. Either way, you'll always get more than enough to eat. Just make sure you get enough GARLIC NOODLES!
mMMMmMMmMMm

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Went for dungeness crab -- offered lobster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Went to get the dungeness crabs and was told it would be lobster. Being from New England, I turned down the lobster. Imperial rolls were delicious though as were the garlic noodles. Salt & pepper shrimp were merely meh.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“so so food, bad service overpriced. disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

per a local san franciscan's recommendation, we dined at ppq dungeon crab restaurant in san francisco. we were there on a week night in Dec 2010. Searching for parking took 45 minutes. With a confirmed reservation, we waited 45 minutes to be seated. the wait would have been worth it if the food was on par with the price. the crabs were good. the whole meal would have cost 1/3 of what other excellent asian restaurants would have charged. 2 crabs, 1 10 inch each plate of string beans, steamed fish, fried chicken, 6 egg rolls cut in 1/2. a bowl of white rice, all for tip included $300. Service was awful, no water refill, no wet naps to clean hands after eatingt crabs, forgotten requests for utensils and napkins. Next time, skip the restaurant, the wait and the parking go to fisherman's warf for fresh crabs at a nice setting and much better service

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PPQ Dungeness Island also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to PPQ Dungeness Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PPQ Dungeness Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.