We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an OK meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aziza

Aziza
5800 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94121-2005 (The Richmond)
415-752-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aziza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #275 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Cross street: 22nd Ave.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Just an OK meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For a Michelin-starred restaurant, we were expecting a lot more. I have no idea how they got their star based on the meal and service we had. Service was just OK. It took a long time for the waiter to even come to the table and even longer to get our wine order. The osso bucco was excellent. The fish was just OK and the portion was very small. The temperature in the restaurant was excessively hot. For the same money, you can do a whole lot better elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    48
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tickle your taste buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was a bit wary after a $42 cab ride, but it was worth every penny. The dessert alone was worth it! Outstanding Branzino. The waiter was probably the best I've encountered.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Richmond district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Loved this place! I have warm memories of another Moroccan restaurant in this area and Aziza meets and surpasses those memories! The Duck confit basteeya was superb. My husband loved his lamb shanks and the flatbread appetizer with three wonderful spreads. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fine dining restaurant. Moroccan cuisine. Great ambiance. The food and the service was absolutely wonderful. It was a little pricey. But the taste was well worth it.
We tried the tasting menu, unfortunately the portions were a little too small. So, we were still feeling hungry after spending over $100/each.
I would go there again and try their a la carte menu next next.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Aziza is an excellent find! The atmosphere of the restaurant is swanky, cool and intimate. There are a few rooms that keep the noise down and the crowd seem small. The cocktail menu is fun and inventive. The drinks range from sweet to savory. Try something different. For an appetizer, the duck confit is a must! The food from the a la carte menu was delicious. If you didn't have enough duck in the appetizer, I recommend the entree. Great restaurant and well worth finding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aziza also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Aziza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aziza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.