We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Burmese food in great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burma Superstar Restaurant

Burma Superstar Restaurant
309 Clement St, San Francisco, CA 94118-2315 (The Richmond)
(415) 387-2147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Burmese food in great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been suggested this place from the Burmese taxi driver the first day we spent in San Francisco, after couple of days decided to try it and went spontaneously at the entrance to realize we had to wait at least 45 minutes to get a table, so we took the time to go for a drink and a walk of the neighborhood...

after the long wait we had been seated and we have eaten one of the best meals of our whole trip to Canada and Usa; the tea leaf salad is amazing spicy and flavored, the other curry meals were also finely and rarely tasty. what else to say, great and packed place which is really a gem of its kind.

no super high level service, easy seating and small room but the food pays you back all the wait and effort.

I would definitely go there again next time in my lovely SF.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    120
    34
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ashland, or
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding, unique, delicious, reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were taken to Superstar by a vegan friend who'd been there often' she loved it. . .Other than her recommendation, we didn't know what to expect. We hadn't had Burmese before, and aren't vegans. But it was amazing!

Many good choices for vegans, for sure. So we ate vegan together, but that's not what makes this place so terrific. (Plenty of great sounding choices for omnivores, too.) We LOVED everything we ordered. Pea shoots with coconut rice -- terrific, totally unique. Tea leaves salad (a chopped salad with tea leaves, regular greens, seeds and lots of other great stuff) -- hmmm! Incredibly good. Sesame tofu (sweet and sour) -- delicious, way above the norm, though not quite as uniquely flavored.

Service was friendly. Prices good. The room's kind of noisy. And unless you come right when they're opening -- and you'll probably be part of a line to get in even then -- expect a longish wait -- or better yet, call ahead, get on the list, and show up just before the time they'll have room for you. But (and I'm someone who really doesn't want to wait for a restaurant), it's totally worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was from out-of-town and waited a long time to go to this restaurant, so the kind lady on the phone actually let me reserve a seat, contrary to usual practice. ALL of their food is fantastic, and if you're a fish lover, you're in heaven. The aroma of fresh herbs, the zing of oriental spices, the delightful presentation of the dishes - this is one of the best meals I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique flavours, great dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Visiting San Fran with my adult children: now 19 and 21yrs and family friends. We wandered in for a late lunch, possibly the best time to go because the lines at night are long! We were served by Fanny who was charming and helpful, she guided us to order the best options on the menu, the tea leaf salad and rainbow salad had such amazing flavours, clean, fresh and multilayered. Mmmm yum!
Main courses: we loved the pork and potato and the Burmese curries the most. Let your waiter guide you and you can't go wrong. This was a dining experience to savour, everyone MUST go there. This is a menu which you cannot recreate at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Soooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been missing out. Burmese food is new to me and I had no idea what I'd been missing. It was a touch spicy, a touch minty, and all delicious. Their lunch was out of this world. It's definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burma Superstar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Burma Superstar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burma Superstar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.