We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of esperpento

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
esperpento
3295 22st, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Mission)
(415) 282-8867
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #852 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tapas heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent tapas, great happy hour drink specials, and we still salivate when thinking of the potatas bravas!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Spanish food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went here to celebrate my August bday fds. Glad that we made a resevation a day ahead. There was a line when we got there around 7pm. This place was pretty big and well designed. There was a guy playing guitar, but it was loud for us because what we really wanted was enjoy the food and talk.

Anyways, the food was pretty good. We had spicy potatoes, fried calamri, Almejas A La Marinera, oyster, some sausage, and the seafood Paella. Highly recommend the spicy potato and seafood Paella. Portion was kinda small. Good service and nice environment for groups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great value, good food, authentic tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After traveling to Spain last year, my husband and I have been hooked on Spanish food. At the recommendation of a friend, we tried this and was not disappointed. Their Jamon iberico with tomato spread and olive oil was delicious, the rabo stew was tasty and a good portion for the price, their sangria was strong and the patatas brava had a spicy sauce that reminded us of Barcelona. It may look like a hole in the wall from the outside but don't be fooled. This is a really good restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Tasty Spanish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Serves traditional Spanish food at competitive prices. My wife and son had paella which they declared the best they had tasted outside of Spain. It's cooked to order so don't choose this if you're in a hurry (allow about 30 mins). The rest of our party opted for the oxtail stew which was delicious and very filling. This is not one of the fashionable areas of San Francisco but don't let this put you off. Bar interior is rustic but comfortable and the restrooms are very clean!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for some authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stumbled across this place in the Mission as it seemed to be packed out with a great atmosphere. We were not disappointed, the food was delicious home cooked style with a true authentic taste of Spain.
Ordered the Meatballs, Garlic chicken and Potatoes in garlic mayo. All were perfect, the girlfriend had some grilled Salmon which she also enjoyed. The glass of Sangria went down a treat.
Friendly staff and excellent menu. Kitchen closes at 2230 like everywhere else. Overall highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed esperpento also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to esperpento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage esperpento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.